Skip to content

December 21, 2015

Christmas Update

Well, Christmas is almost upon us and thoughts turn to upcoming festivities and dinners. I hope that you are all well and finding time to be creative!

We have now been in the new place for a whopping 6 weeks and have accomplished a lot! The studio has been encased in insulation….three walls that needed it and the attic above that half. The pellet stove has been installed and is giving enough heat so that once it is up to temperature in there, we can turn it down to level 2 or 3 for the day. When it is sunny out, the whole place gets even warmer and is infused with wonderful light through the huge windows.

image

image

image

The first photo shows the back wall and the outside entrance. You can see 2 of the tables in a row and a third table by itself with the seating area in the far corner by the pellet stove.

The second photo shows the fourth and fifth tables in another row.

The last photo is a better shot of the seating area. We love spending time there in the evenings.

I staged an open house in the studio this past Saturday, Dec 19th. It was nice to see people from the area who stopped by. Hopefully, classes will begin in the new year!

I have been busy doing other things as well. I knit some hats for grandchildren…

image

I knit my very first pair of socks…no photo. Maybe the next pair will be more photogenic!

I have also taken out and dusted off a knitted scarf project from a few years back…yes, Dee, it’s yours! I am almost finished it and will be mailing it as soon as it is completed!! Better late than never, right?

While foraging around in the attic, we came across this cool chocolate box…it would be awesome to be able to buy these now, eh?

image

I have also been sketching….almost everywhere we go to eat, I sketch my meal just for practise…

image

I also sketched my traveling watercolour set and some of the Playmobil characters in my Advent calendar …

image

I joined a couple of local groups. The first one is a Scrapbooking group…we meet weekly and I really enjoy the time to play with no other chores, etc, to get in the way. We recently had an Ugly Christmas Sweater party. I couldn’t find one, so I stitched parts from thrift store stockings, etc, all over it. I was not successful in making it ugly enough apparently…

 

The he other group is an Adult Colouring group that meets at a local coffee place to talk ‘art’ and colour. Lots of kindred spirits there!

I wish you all a very MERRY CHRISTMAS with lots of ‘happy tears and noisy games’ (to quote one of my favourite Christmas movies) May your new year be an adventure to be enjoyed with loads of time for creativity!

Happy quilting,

Carol

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Odarka permalink
    December 22, 2015 12:37 am

    Congratulations on new beginnings and your new home! Merry Christmas and all the best in the New Year!

  2. Marilyn permalink
    December 22, 2015 1:19 am

    Good to see you in your new location, looking great, Merry Christmas and all the best in the New Year. Hope to see you on Vancouver Island in 2016
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

