Skip to content

Well, I’m back now after a few months of working on my latest enterprise.

October 31, 2015

I am embarking on a new adventure! I have been searching for just the right place with lots of room for a studio in a beautiful setting. A lofty goal for a small budget!

While camping in Nova Scotia this past summer, I came across the perfect place. In fact, the Realtor I shared my requirements with said he had the perfect place for me and he was sooooo right! This is not just a place…it is a 115+year old SCHOOL!!

It is located just north of Yarmouth on Highway #1 with the Bay of Fundy practically right across the road!

Here are some shots of the place and the view…(I apologize for the out of focus photos!)

imageThe front part with the 6 windows in a row is the residence and the large, back will be a studio in one half and a workshop for my partner in the other…it even has an automatic garage door!

Here is the view….you can see the Salmon River right across the road, which empties into the Bay of Fundy…

image

Here are some shots of the studio and workshop…

image

The window in the middle in the upper picture is the one on the right in the bottom picture. There will be lots of room for tables to use for classes as well as a sitting area, fabric storage……:)

Here is the other half of that part of the building…

image

The plastic covered wall separates the two halves….my studio is through that doorway.

We also found a photo of the school way back in the early 1900s…it is the building on the hill at the right.

image

There are photos online of various class pictures right back to 1902!

I did a sketchbook journal entry showing the part of Nova Scotia where the place is located. The small picture in the upper left shows the part of Nova Scotia that is enlarged on the right.

image

Ok, on to other things. I have been busy with my quilting as well as cross stitching and sketching. I will start with some recent quilts….they are mostly 5×7 and lately, a few bookmarks.

image

Now, the bookmarks….\

image

image

I have taught a few classes in the past few months…not many though. I hope that changes after I get into my new digs! I will have lots of room, there are nice places to stay in the area including a new RV park under construction….if you are interested in a class.

In October, I was privileged to teach a group of Japanese ladies who came to PEI for a tour. We all had a wonderful time, despite the language barrier (I had an interpreter) Here they are after almost completing an 8×10 Red Dirt Road project…

image

I have done quite a bit of sketching in my journal. I take it most places with me….mostly I sketch while at Starbucks!

image

image

image

image

imageI have also been cross stitching. I have done a lot more than this picture shows, and will post that picture in my next post.

image

This is a pattern that my partner has created from a couple of photos taken last winter around the farm. He does amazing patterns showing local scenery. Contact him at bobcomeau.wordpress.com if you are interested in getting a pattern made from one of your photos!

Once my studio is set up, I will be back to posting tutorials of quilts for you to follow. I have a new show quilt ready to start…the master pattern is drawn out…so watch for that process as well.

Comments are always appreciated.

Happy quilting!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2015 10:01 pm

    It is wonderful that you are back… I missed your posts. What lovely bookmarks and wonderful sketchnotes! Thank you for sharing.

  2. October 31, 2015 10:32 pm

    This is such a funny coincidence, my husband is from this area of the French shore he is a Blinn, his mother and father were from Comeauville area. Loved the area when we went back there to visit his family a few years ago. Your work is very inspiring. I am just in the process of completing my first art quilt. I would include a picture but I’m not sure that I can do that in this format. You came and did a presentation at my guild here in Victoria earlier this year for the Victoria Quilt Guild and I loved seeing your work.

  3. November 1, 2015 8:27 am

    Really like the birch tree bookmarks. Neat to see where you will be.

  4. Debbie Schmermund permalink
    December 9, 2015 10:21 pm

    Carol I purchased your piece the Red Cliffs of PEI the first week of August in the art shop by the bridge, there was another of your pieces there but I could only get one. I look and admire that piece everyday, I just love it , it makes me feel good and I can picture our family standing on the edge looking out. I would like to get the matching piece that is in your July14 blog with the fence on the left side, beach and cliffs and birds flying in the sky.How much would it be to purchase if available. Also I love your bookmarks, what is the price for the birch tree or the field ones. Your work is like a living scene, I can almost hear the water splash against the shore , and see the beauty that surrounds your masterpieces. I have the piece that is in your July 4 archive.

    • December 10, 2015 1:25 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments! Check your email for details.

Leave a Reply

