Skip to content

New projects….

February 1, 2015

I have been busy these past few days. I finished up the wave quilt I was working on. I only have to sew on the binding now.

Here it is…

001

I apologize for the slightly out-of-focus picture.

You can see that the sand is now stitched and the water on the beach is done. I am not totally happy with the shape of that bit so I will work on it in future quilts.

I have been picturing an evening wave quilt for quite some time now so I decided to tackle that. I love the atmosphere in the evening with the rich colours and great contrasts.

Here are some shots taken during the process…

004

Again, slightly out of focus….I love this sky fabric! The ‘headland’ in the background is only laid on top of the stitched sky and water….I will be placing it later.

005

Now, the headland is placed and detail stitching done.

The wave is blocked in.

006

The foreground foamy fabric is in place and the first stitching to join it to the wave. I love that mauve fabric for foam…I don’t know why I didn’t think of using it before! It has been patiently waiting in my stash. 🙂

007

Here, I am looking straight down at the quilt as it sits under my sewing machine. I am stitching the frothy part (my favourite bit!)

008

The frothy bit is done and I have placed the water (reflecting the sky) and the darkened beach.

010

The foamy surf is stitched ….now for the final picture…..

011

And there you have it! Evening Wave.

This quilt is about 13″ x 13″ so that makes it one of my smaller pieces. It is brighter than this picture ( I don’t know why my camera didn’t pick up the rich colours) and I think of it as my little Jewel. 🙂

On to other things.

We have been through a couple of Maritime storms in the last week. After one bout of snow, I was walking through the kitchen when I spied this in the window…it was like the storm was trying to get my attention! lol

003

Honestly, I did not touch this or form it at all! It is outside between the window glass and the screen! Cool, eh?

Well….Happy Quilting!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda B. permalink
    February 1, 2015 3:43 pm

    Love this Carol!!! And how fun the storm’s greeting you! 😀 Love to you.

  2. February 1, 2015 3:44 pm

    I thought that ‘YO’ was sort of cool!! 🙂 Love to you guys too!

  3. Nicole permalink
    February 1, 2015 4:36 pm

    Evening wave is fantastic! I hope you bring that out to BC when you come.

  4. February 1, 2015 5:20 pm

    Yes…it will be coming with me, along with lots of others!

  5. Adela Laband permalink
    February 2, 2015 4:35 pm

    I love your wave, is it so romantic with rich warm colors. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

