Skip to content

Progress on ‘The Wave’ quilt….

January 28, 2015

This is a quilt that I am getting ready for a workshop on Quadra Island in a couple of months. I am going to get it down to a size which can be completed in one day. This particular one is not that one!

Here are some shots taken over the last couple of days…

Here I have stitched the sky and background water, and placed my basic fabrics for the wave and nearer water.

001 (Large)

The stitching begins from the base of the wave and working upwards…

002 (Large)

The stitching on the wave is almost completed and I have laid the green organza where the curl will be…

003 (Large)

Stitching on the darker blue water done….taking it up onto the wave to indicate the direction of water movement…

004 (Large)

005 (Large)

Added the organza….this is always a messy -looking stage!

006 (Large)

That’s better! Now the frothy part is stitched down.

007 (Large)

Dark green added under the froth as a shadow…

008 (Large)

009 (Large)

Water stitching finished and part of the work done on the beach now…

010 (Large)

I will post a picture of the final quilt as soon as it is done.

In the meantime, if you would like to see the pictures the moment I take them, you can follow me on INSTAGRAM. I am named carbythesea there.

I have also just added a new page showing my up-coming workshop/trunk show schedule.

Happy quilting!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Boyd permalink
    January 28, 2015 11:57 pm

    Wow – looks stunning and so very real.
    Kathy

    • January 29, 2015 2:03 am

      Thanks! I’m really happy with this one…the finished picture should be posted tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

