Skip to content

What an interesting day!

December 6, 2014

OK, I started out this morning determined to continue working on my ‘Cedars in the Mist’ quilt. I have it laid out on my work table in this state….

IMG_9321

If you look, you can see all the pins. The trees are on 5 different layers of white tulle and are ready for stitching. Before I started to stitch, however, I thought it would be wise to try stitching a small version of one of the foreground trees to be on the safe side. (After all, I am stitching on tulle alone, in a hoop) I cut a small piece of tulle and added some of the dried grass fabric and a tree trunk. I took a deep breath and began to add moss to the tree. IT WAS PERFECT!! How cool it looked. I thought that if this sample worked, I would make a mini quilt out of it.

It worked……and looked like this…

IMG_9331

This shot shows it after the tree is done and a fern is stitched and the grass is stitched with a shadow behind the tree. I used about 7 different threads for the tree. I really like this technique.

OK, I now had a sample tree and proved to myself that I could stitch details right on top of tulle….good to know.

I cut out a sky and distant hillside from the same fabrics that the quilt has and was ready to put the new tree in place. I was doing some other things around my studio…..Christmas decorating, etc, and saw a cool piece of fabric laying on my work table that I had used to cut out some of the trees for the bigger quilt. I looked at it again….and clipped it up on my wall……it was a very interesting piece of fabric! I wondered what my tree might look like on top of it……I’ll show you…

IMG_9332

Doesn’t that look great?? I love the light patch in the middle! The fern in front of it is also a neat touch. Well….my mind was churning …what can I do with this? I loved the mystical quality here and wanted to work with it. It was a foregone conclusion that this is now a new mini quilt. I will just have to do another sample for the ‘Cedars in the MIst’ quilt!

I cut away the tulle from around the tree and ground and cut another piece of grey tulle…don’t ask me why, It just seemed the thing to do! I added a few more distant trees in the distance, then put the grey tulle in my hoop, marked an area that I wanted to stitch branches into and away I went. The resulting layer of tulle was laid over the rest of it and this is what it looks like now….

IMG_9347

I will be putting some sort of border around it consisting of a very narrow strip (playing with gold metallic) then a wider, woodsy -looking outer border. Who knows what will happen with it tomorrow! Always interesting, anyway.

The Calvin and Hobbes quilt is also coming along slowly…..Hobbes is done, anyway…

IMG_9351

Well, there you have it.

Have fun with your own creativity and don’t discount the value of the unexpected turn!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joyce Arbogast permalink
    December 6, 2014 11:08 pm

    How neat! Love it! You are a genius my friend. Miss u

Leave a Reply

