Skip to content

The latest projects….

November 21, 2014

It has been great to see all the visitors to my blog! Welcome one and all…..:)

I have been working on 2 quilts at the same time lately. One of them is for my West Coast tour in the Spring. It is called  ‘Cedars in the Mist’ and will have lots of Cedar trees…(duh…lol) I will be doing some embroidery on the closest branches as well as stitching ferns in the foreground. Here it is so far…..I welcome any comments and ideas.

2014-11-19 11.27.27

The other quilt is one I just started yesterday. It is a Christmas gift for a friend who loves Calvin and Hobbes.

2014-11-20 18.30.37

Calvin, Hobbes, and the wagon will be falling of course! I will be adding grass and branch detail when I do the stitching.

Now, a couple of pictures of the bird life around here.

The other day, there was a large flock of Canada Geese resting in the field behind the farm. I wanted to take some resource pictures because I never know when I will need to have a Goose on a quilt. I started walking toward them, taking pictures as I went. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to get some shots of them flying so I kept walking until they took off…..I’m sure that there are lots of cool poses in this picture! 🙂

2014-11-19 13.33.08

We have a resident Crow family here. They are very interesting to watch as they do things to get food or just to mess with us! A few years ago, I had a running battle every morning with one of them who went through my garden very early every morning and pulled out all the white plastic labels at the end of each row, flipping them all over the place!

Lately, these crows have been working at getting the suet /seeds out of a wire cage which is hanging from a thin tree branch. One crow sits on the branch above it and shakes it or lifts it up in his beak while the others mill around below and scoop up the falling seeds. They finally caused the cage to fall to the ground where a good time was had by all…..

2014-11-18 06.58.34

Well…that is all for now. More updates to follow….

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2014 4:34 am

    Crows are so smart! I saw a show on TV a while back that showed how the Japanese have trained the crows in Tokyo to pick up garbage and put it in a bin, whereupon they receive a treat!

  2. Glenda B. permalink
    November 21, 2014 3:26 pm

    Love your information friend. Blessings! Let us know where your “West Coast” tour will be – we may be in the area. Hugs, G

Leave a Reply

