Skip to content

Cool finds, a new class, and other fun things….

November 16, 2014

It has been a bit now since my last entry so I have a few things to catch up.

First of all…..I needed some new studio furniture so I went to the local auction and found some pieces.

I needed a work table so this fit the bill perfectly…

IMG_9152

Not only a great antique oak table ( notice the 3 leg arrangement on both ends), but I got the six chairs as well. They have been finished but not the table so far. A summer project. I got all of this for only $150!

At the same auction, my friend bought me this cool antique treadle sewing machine base with an oak top…

IMG_9158

IMG_9157

Anyone ever heard of this brand? I know nothing about it! We got it for $35.

Yesterday, we went again to the auction where I found this awesome desk (soon to be my computer desk) I got this for $45.

IMG_9214

I also recently downloaded a few free embroidery patterns for my Pfaff. This one is sooo adorable!

I will start out with pictures that I took while it was being stitched.

IMG_9203

IMG_9205

IMG_9206

And, finally, the finished product…

IMG_9208

Isn’t it the cutest thing?? 🙂 I used to have a mini Schnauzer so I was sort of drawn to this image.

I have done a few more sketches since the last post so I will show them to you here…

IMG_9169

IMG_9170

IMG_9171

IMG_9172

I have also been working on a few quilts, and teaching some classes. The following was a recent class. If you are local and interested in a class, contact me or Bargain Fabrics….

IMG_9166

If you are interested in private classes, I am available to teach in my home. I teach a number of different quilts using a variety of techniques plus, I can teach you how to design, choose fabrics, and create a quilt of your own choosing. Contact me through this blog and leave your name and email/phone number.I am also working on another Tiger quilt…

IMG_9168

Ok…let’s see…..Furniture – check…Embroidery – check…Sketches – check…Quilts – check…..ahhhhh….I HAVE to share a thread painting technique I recently learned. I was given a book by Alison Holt which really grabbed my interest. Fabric is stretched in a hoop and the entire surface is covered with machine embroidery…only this time I was the one doing the work, not my machine!

Here is my first attempt…

IMG_9210

I am now very excited to try other scenes from photos I have taken. Speaking of photos….how about this beauty I took the other day….

I love my camera!

IMG_9200

This hawk was all the way on the other side of the farmyard!

Well….that is all for this post. I promise to try to post more regularly.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    November 16, 2014 9:46 pm

    Wow, Carol! That thread painting you are doing is beautiful! And all the photos are very interesting – thank you!

    • November 17, 2014 12:00 am

      The thread painting is very fun! It is technically not a quilt, but I think the techniques can be incorporated into future quilts….

  2. Laur permalink
    November 16, 2014 9:55 pm

    That was a dense post! Great additions, but hope the computer desk is right ergonomically for you! Love your sketches – I really admire them. The thread painting is sending me to my machine!

    • November 17, 2014 12:02 am

      I am always glad when I can help to inspire others….have fun stitching!! The desk drawer has a drop-down front on the drawer so the keyboard and mouse will be lower…should work well.

  3. Joyce Arbogast permalink
    November 16, 2014 11:54 pm

    You are amazing my friend! So proud to be your friend even though we live so far away and never know when we will ever see each other again. I am so glad you were a part of my life even for the short while. Love you. You are so so very talented!

    • November 17, 2014 12:03 am

      Joyce, it has been wonderful to have you for a friend all these years! I do hope we can see each other again sometime. Take care.

  4. November 17, 2014 9:05 pm

    Greetings from BC! I was googling PEI (what a stunning province) and found your blog so thought I would drop you a line. It’s great to see your quilts and art work. You were always creative when you taught our kids out here. sonst@shaw.ca

    • November 18, 2014 6:40 pm

      Thanks for the message….it would be nice to know who you are and maybe catch up a bit! 🙂

      • November 18, 2014 8:37 pm

        Feel free to drop me a line and I’ll tell you. You taught both of my girls in Kelowna, and did an awesome job as an art teacher. The work you are doing is awbsolutely stunning in its beauty and how precise it it. , I’m so proud of you guys to venture way out there and do what you are doing. You are living my dream. I just had a lengthy converstation out here with a born and raised most of her life PEI girl who worked at our local library.

      • November 18, 2014 8:38 pm

        oops, a typo, absolutely

  5. Glenda B. permalink
    November 18, 2014 2:44 am

    Beautiful ocean scene Carol! Love it! You’re an amazing artist. Blessings to you.

  6. November 18, 2014 1:41 pm

    Hello! Dropping in from Blogathon CDanada. Looks like you are getting your sewing studio all outfitted nicely. Your thread painted pics are very beautiful. Love the photo of that Hawk in flight. Sew nice to meet you!

  7. November 18, 2014 4:33 pm

    Raymond Sewing Machine Company was located in Guelph Ontario. I remember taking a walking tour of the city’s downtown and seeing the building where it was located but I don’t remember too much more.

    • November 18, 2014 6:38 pm

      Thank you for that info! 🙂 Always interesting to discover new things.

  8. November 18, 2014 5:31 pm

    Oh my goodness, what an incredible talent you have! Your thread painting is spectacular…I’m in awe.

  9. November 18, 2014 6:44 pm

    Isn’t it great to find reasonably priced furniture you can re-purpose? Hope it all works well. Stopping by on the Blogathon. Thanks for taking part. I’ve enjoyed surfing around your blog. Love your thread painting, and the embroidered Schnauzer. Congrats on the quick sale of your piece for the CQA fundraiser! Hope I get to see the exhibit as it travels…

  10. November 18, 2014 11:02 pm

    Wow , your thread painting is amazing , something I really want to learn . I will be back again to visit .

  11. terryaskeartquilts permalink
    November 19, 2014 5:02 am

    Love your work!

  12. December 13, 2014 9:22 pm

    Love the sketches, Mom! Especially the trees by the water with all the speckles.

  13. December 13, 2014 9:36 pm

    Thanks for the compliment, sweetie! So glad you like that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

