Skip to content

Basically completed….

August 30, 2014

I started out this morning with the lupins that I planned on adding into the foreground. I like to add flower details separately with the fabric on top of a very heavy stabilizer. After completing the flower, I cut it out and add it to the quilt. The first reason is that it saves a lot of fiddly machine quilting on the quilt – which would add to the shrinkage – Β the second reason is that if I mess up, I can just remake the flower and the quilt is not wrecked! The third reason is so that I can move them around until I find the best spot. Good reasons, eh? πŸ™‚

Here is what they looked like after I finished stitching them and while they are still on the stabilizer ( a very heavy Pellon)

IMG_8451

So, I proceeded to cut them out and place them. I then added some Goldenrod on both sides of the road. I did use some artistic license here as Goldenrod and Lupins do not bloom at the same time, but I wanted them together, so there you have it!

IMG_8454

Here is a close up….

IMG_8455

As a final touch, I added some brown darker bits to the Goldenrod and some interesting shadows on the road and behind the Lupins…

IMG_8456

So, there you have it! The quilt is now ready to block and add the binding, label, and hanging sleeves.

TA DA!!! πŸ™‚

Happy Quilting,

Carol

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    August 30, 2014 10:48 pm

    Very lovely, Carol! I’m also in my sewing room, but just making very ordinary little quilts. Using up old pieces of fabric, and lots of it will only be enough for a smaller sized quilt; good for a lap quilt or over the foot of a bed for a bit of extra warmth in the winter.

    • August 30, 2014 11:39 pm

      It’s all good! As long as we are busy creating and happy with our results!! I sort of wish I enjoyed piecing too….such useful creations!!

  2. Janice Hume permalink
    August 31, 2014 12:31 am

    It’s beautiful-I love the lupins and your technique for making them. A real Island quilt!

  3. marilyn pearson permalink
    August 31, 2014 3:35 pm

    Like the interesting angles and perspective of this quilt. Good PEI colours. Very nice!!

  4. Kathy Boyd permalink
    August 31, 2014 6:48 pm

    Hi Carol,

    Absolutely beautiful – love the technique. It is definitely a reflection of your wonderful Island – just love it!
    Kathy

  5. September 16, 2014 10:20 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to
    say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing to your rss
    feed and I hope you write again soon!

  6. terryaskeartquilts permalink
    September 28, 2014 12:21 am

    This is fabulous! I can’t wait to see it in person at Quilt Canada next year. I see that there will be a preview of the quilts in Victoria in October, so I might get to see it then.

    • September 28, 2014 12:29 pm

      Thank you for your kind comment, and the heads up about the preview in October. I have family on the Island who may be able to get there!

Leave a Reply

