Skip to content

An update….

July 1, 2014

I know I have been sadly lacking on my blog entries. I will try to keep up with what I am doing more regularly!

The Spring Contest with the Canadian Quilting Association is now over…..my quilt did not place in the top 3. 😦

Oh, well….I like it!  I will walk you through the process here.

It started with the Challenge theme….April Showers Bring May Flowers. I was trying to think of an original way of portraying this and saw some snowy banks with creeks running past them just down the road from my farm. I ran down there and took lots of pictures as reference material. Good thing I did as it rained heavily that night and the beautiful snow was gone and the banks were flooded!

The next step was my concept drawing. I don’t always do this, but this time it seemed to need one.

The concept drawing

 

I wanted to show a snowbank in late winter, and a creek running past. Down this creek was going to be floating a bunch of Spring blooms as a promise that Winter was really going to end. The surface of the creek would be quilted with raindrops. As my drawing shows, I was going to call it The Promise of Spring.

Ok, I laid out some stabilizer and batting and started to roughly cut out some snow. I already had the gravel creekbottom fabric in mind and the overlay of dark blue-green organza for the cold-looking water.

Beginning the snowbank

 

Can you see the two holes in the organza? Those were caused by a hot iron! I knew I had to cover them with a flower.

I continued by adding some dead grasses and details on the snowbank. The bloom there is not in the finished quilt, I just laid it there to give me an idea of what the blooms might look like on the water. Of course, I had to place it over the holes! lol

Dead grass added

I continued to add details. You can see here that I have added a reflection under the organza and more details to the snowbank. It is now pinned for quilting the snowbank only.

IMG_7703

I wanted the snow to have a smooth looking surface so I quilted it with straight lines, then added grass detail.

Stitching more grass

Now it was time to start creating the flowers.

The Daffodil

After the fabrics were glued together, I used Misty Fuse, the flower was placed onto heavy stabilizer and the details were stitched on. Here is a shot of the tulip before stitching.

 

 

The Tulip

The Magnolia

The Magnolia before stitching.

After completing most of the blooms, I laid them onto the quilt and left it for days. I would walk past it and re-arrange the odd one or all of them….trying to find the most pleasing arrangement. This eluded me for a long time…..

I finally did come up with an arrangement and slit the green organza where I wanted petals to look like they were under water. They needed to look like they were IN the water, not just sitting on TOP of it.

The finished look

Here is the quilt….almost finished. You can see the raindrops quilting on the organza, the blooms all partly submerged, and a very goofy rock! That bugged me for a long time!

IMG_8003

The Primroses were one of my favourites. I am really pleased with the way they came out!

IMG_8005

Here is that Magnolia with the final stitched details and submerged a bit. The Apple blossom was added along with some Crocuses after I had completed the quilting because the final design needed just 2 more flowers!

IMG_8002

Well, here is the final result. Remember that goofy rock? I cut out another one and stitched it down right over the old one! You can also see the apple blossoms and the crocuses that I added on the left.

My issue of The Quilt Life just arrived in the mail. My quilt, ‘Reflections’, is in the Centerfold! Woohooo! I am very pleased with that plus I have my photo in the Contributors section. I like the way it came out …I had draped quilts behind and in front of my machine for this shot and you can see ‘Celise’ peeking over my shoulder! Fun!

My business continues to grow with more classes to teach and patterns selling on the island. I now have 5 guilds that I will be visiting on Vancouver Island next Spring so that is exciting. I am hoping for more on the mainland as well.

I am just finishing up a couple of sample quilts for up-coming classes. I will post pictures of them as they are completed. I will have patterns available for each of them as well.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda B. permalink
    July 1, 2014 7:22 pm

    Wow Carol! Great job. I’m sending you a personal email so please check it as I have a friend who is interested in your work. Hugs to you.

  2. Adel permalink
    July 2, 2014 7:54 pm

    I love this snow bank and the rock is much nicer now
    Good choice of flowers and very realistic. Love to all,

    • July 3, 2014 1:26 am

      Thanks! Glad you like the final product! 🙂 Hope your summer is going well.

  3. Roger Newport permalink
    July 5, 2014 11:48 am

    You do such a beautiful work

  4. July 5, 2014 5:08 pm

    Thank you!

  5. Naomi Ichikawa permalink
    August 21, 2014 6:29 am

    Hello Carol
    I am a editor of Japanese Quilts magazine.I am planning to come to PEI in Oct. to write an big featuring article about PEI quilts and quilters. I do hope to feature you but no way to communicate. Could you please send me a email if possible?

Leave a Reply

