Skip to content

The new studio…..

March 5, 2014

Well, I recently decided to move my studio downstairs to the dining room/parlour. I was using a small bedroom but now have much more space and it is so convenient!

I will be working on getting it set up for a while but here are some preliminary photos…

The overview of the dining room….

IMG_7567

 

You can just see the swinging door into the kitchen on the right. Believe it or not, the table does have both legs on this side!

Starting at the door, here are close ups….

IMG_7571

 

I have my fabric in the boxes and stacking shelves…well part of my fabric! I got blank white tags to label the boxes.

IMG_7572

 

My sewing table. At the moment, both of my machines are sitting there….I was playing the other day with the embroidery machine……

Ok, you want to see under the covers??

IMG_7578

 

There they are….:-)

Ok…carrying on…the shelves of fabric on the other side of my sewing table can just be seen on the right in this picture….the hutch has my office stuff and journals, etc stored so far….I will be using more of it as I go…

IMG_7568

 

I love the fact that I have the 3 big windows! I made the lace toppers for them a couple of days ago. You can see my ironing table on the left…here it is again…

IMG_7573

 

I got the vinyl stick on calendar and white board that just peel off later with no bad effects to the walls. This cabinet stores my batting, light table, and miscellaneous sewing and trim items.

IMG_7574

 

Now, you can see the opening between the dining room and the parlour….the 2 doors that are visible lead into the main entry hall…I have a folding work table there which can be moved around. The wall behind it is the only place for a design wall….but I can’t nail or screw into it..any ideas for me??

Now, one of the coolest parts of my studio…..I have a grand piano…

IMG_7575

 

A beautiful propane fireplace (which I have been using frequently to warm the whole area up!)

IMG_7576

 

and my largest painting to date…my old closet doors….

IMG_7577

 

Anyway, there you have it….I am excited about possibly teaching small classes in this space and using it for studio tours.

Now, some recent news! I sent my quilt, ‘Reflections’ down to CO for a photo shoot for The Quilter’s Life magazine. It will be the centerfold in the August issue. Not only that, I will be featured as well with it, having done a write-up describing my quilting career so far and how I did the quilt, etc.. I am very excited about this opportunity to get the word out about wanting to travel and teach workshops as well as share my trunk show at guild meetings!

My quilt, ‘The Hunter’ was accepted into the Canadian National Quilt Show this year, so stay tuned to see how it does.

All for now,

Keep on stitchin!

 

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda B. permalink
    March 5, 2014 11:36 pm

    So cool Carol! What a great honor for you. Will be praying for more open doors and opportunities. Love to you and thinking of you lots, Glenda

  2. Janet Jones permalink
    March 6, 2014 2:13 am

    Wow, Carol! What a delightful space to work in! Isn’t it great to have those windows for natural light at where you are using the sewing machines? Had my sewing table in a corner between two windows in the house in Creston, but only have one window in this place. And can’t really have the table right up against it – because there is an electric radiator/heater under the window.

  3. Ade permalink
    March 8, 2014 5:50 pm

    What a great idea to have the downstairs space for your play area.
    Best of luck and hope to see you again in California .

  4. March 8, 2014 6:04 pm

    It is so handy this way! I love it! I wish I was there now! So tired of winter!

  5. May 16, 2014 11:37 pm

    Love your new space. My husband passed a year ago and that big bedroom just wasn’t working for me so I switched my tiny sewing room and my master bedroom and now I have a delightfully large studio complete with two kitchen pantry’s for fabric/storage, a Horn sewing table, by the window, lots of lights and a center cutting and layout area with storage under it. I am loving my new work area. Oh my deign wall is two insulation panels covered with warm n natural batting framed. There’s just two screws in the top and two in the bottom to hold them up so I won’t damage the walls. I love your work. My son told me about you; he had a gallery showing in Copperas Cove, Tx. also. I do work similar to yours.

    • May 16, 2014 11:48 pm

      Karen, your space sounds wonderful! I would love to see your work as well as your son’s.

Leave a Reply

