Skip to content

Still at it, but slowly!

February 9, 2014

Hello again,

Well, I picked up my prize from Fabricville upon my return from BC. A big THANK YOU to the fine folks from Brother (a new sewing machine) and Fabricville for the gift basket filled with wonderful notions, scissors, small clip-on light, a small vacuum for both a sewing machine and a computer, and a $50 gift certificate! 

The gift certificate was spent yesterday at Fabricville on a lovely array of as many broadcloth colours as I could get. I needed to fill out my stash with colours! There is nothing worse than having the creative juices flowing and not being able to find just the right colour!

I sent in the forms to enter THE HUNTER in the Canadian National show this year….waiting to see if it was accepted.

It was great to see my grandchildren’s artwork while out in BC….seems the gene is just as strong in this new generation! My oldest grandson painted this picture in Kindergarten (which was turned into Christmas cards as a class project)

Image

 

Well, I couldn’t pass up the chance to turn this into a quilt now, could I? 

Image

 

Here is the top, I still need to put a backing on it and a narrow black binding. I came up with a great way to create this quilt and will be tweaking the idea as a possible workshop project. 

I have the opportunity to teach some workshops so I am finishing a sample quilt for a project that I taught last spring.

The class project is a water lily, using my detailed method. The class members take home a pattern for a quilt that includes the lily. In my original quilt, I used black satin for the pond water…the sheen gives it a wet look….this time, though, I am using a mossy green to see how it looks. This picture is of the quilt on my design wall. I take pictures as I go to help me get an overall view. In this case, I do not like the colour of the lily pads. I have cut them out of different fabrics and will post that picture as well….comments??

Image

 

The black area is organza so I am thinking of putting the stems under it to give the look of being under water. The lily is portable and can go in any of the 4 ‘sweet spots’……..

More on this one as I progress. 

If you would like me to do a trunk show or workshop for a guild in your area, let me know. I would love to meet you! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

