Skip to content

Now I can show you what I’ve been working on for the past 2 months!

November 2, 2013

Yes! I have been working on a competition quilt for Fabricville. I was to purchase the fabric after Sept 1/13 and complete the 2′ square quilt and enter it before midnight, Oct 31/13. 

I did not want to spill the beans before the contest deadline but I can now…..:)

Here is the quilt from start to finish. I decided to use a fox picture that caught my eye….a free wallpaper download, actually.  I had it printed on an overhead transparency…..

IMG_6812

I was particularly taken with his intent expression. I really wanted to capture that look in my quilt!

I blew it up onto brown wrapping paper on the wall and created a master pattern (which I don’t cut)

IMG_6811

This is just a guide as I still change things as I go along. I refer to the colour transparency throughout the process.

Next, I had to choose the fabrics….here are some of the ones I purchased at Fabricville….

IMG_6814

The oranges and greens really ‘pop’ when together!! 

A freezer paper pattern was traced off of the master pattern, and I begin with the eyes. If the expression is not right, nothing will work. I cut out the whole fox shape first from black fabric. This is the background that all the pieces will be attached to….here are just the eyes on the black….kind of creepy!!

IMG_6815

 

I keep putting the freezer paper pattern back on top of the black, letting the growing fox show through the holes.

IMG_6816

 

IMG_6824

 

 

 

IMG_6826

I used the black background for all the black bits….so the backs of the ears, the nose, around the eyes, etc are just the back showing through…..

IMG_6827

I added tail detail…..I have a layer or two of black tulle over it to make it more indistinct (check the original picture and you’ll see what I mean)

IMG_6858

I added an out-of-focus background (using tulles) and some detail in the foreground. The problem here was that I’ve been away from quilting so long that I forgot that I needed to start stitching in the middle and work out!! I started with the background trees and everything puckered up! Good thing I had not attached the fox! I had to scrap the whole background and start over, moving the fox to his new home.

IMG_6862

The new background….I did not like the dark tree, nor the foliage print (even though it is the back side of the fabric, it is still too detailed) So……another background got scrapped. Here, though, you can see the piece of black organza which will be his shadow in place. I did like the foreground ‘mossy’ fabric.

IMG_6895

You can see some of the stitching on the fox here, plus the final background. I like the faded trees and opted to stipple the entire area to make it fade back.

IMG_6924

And, here is the final quilt…..

IMG_6900

A detail of the fox stitching…..

IMG_6897

So there you have it…I’ll find out later this month how it placed and let you know. You can check it out (as well as the competition) at fabricville.com 

Other matters…..

I have also started up the knitting again. Joan’s scarf is completed and I have a decent start on Dee’s scarf (finally, eh, Dee?? lol)

I have also started the stitching on another competition quilt for the Canadian National quilt show next year. Details later.

This Fall has seen all the Starlings in the area flocking together and making the rounds. Here are some shots of them one afternoon…..

IMG_6839 IMG_6840 IMG_6845

 

Remind you of anything???! (like a certain Alfred Hitchcock movie?)

I loved it when some of them would walk right up to my studio window and peer in……I’ll leave you with this picture…

IMG_6850

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda permalink
    November 3, 2013 5:10 am

    Amazing work on the quilt Carol. LOVED the detail especially in the stitching. Hugs to you and thanks for sharing. Think of you often. G

  2. brenda testu permalink
    November 3, 2013 5:16 pm

    wow that’s one beautiful piece of art. you are very talented.

  3. November 4, 2013 8:08 pm

    That is amazing! Wow!

  4. Ade permalink
    November 5, 2013 4:20 pm

    This fox is so warm and lifelike, you are so gifted with your color choices to bring out his eyes first. Well done. Adela

  5. Roger Newport permalink
    November 6, 2013 2:09 am

    awesome but everything you do is great

  6. November 28, 2013 8:48 pm

    The fox quilt is fabulous! Great idea to use the tulle for the background, and his tail. Thanks for sharing you construction techniques – very interesting.

  7. December 4, 2013 3:10 pm

    I came over to your blog from the Fabricville site. This quilt took my breath away. In fact, there’s something so moving about it I welled up with tears a little. That is the definition of true art, when it moves someone.

  8. December 8, 2013 11:10 pm

    Congratulations on your well deserved win!

  9. Nicki permalink
    June 23, 2014 10:07 am

    Seeing how you put the fox together bit by bit shows a lot of patience and precise cutting. I would love to venture into this kind of art quilting one day. It is quilters like you that inspire people like me. Keep up the beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

