Skip to content

My muse is back…and so am I !!

September 26, 2013

Yes, contrary to popular opinion, I did NOT fall off the end of the earth, or disappear for good! I have been going through a VERY LOOONNNGGG dry spell creatively speaking, working on some personal things instead for the past few months.

I have recently felt my inner muse stirring, though, and am glad to have her back!

To begin, though, I thought I would like to share a few photos taken this past summer around the farm.

First of all…this saucy character showed up on the back porch one evening.

Image

He saw me looking at him, but walked right up onto the porch anyway….

Image

No fear at all…..

Then, another day, I was sitting in my studio, trying to feel creative, when our resident flock of birds started eating sour cherries off of the trees. A few of them decided to eat on the roof right outside my window!

Image

Who could pass up such an opportunity for some fun shots!

They had to hang on to the cherries or they would roll into the gutter….

Image

It looked like they were bobbing for apples…..lol

Image

Success!!

I just finished a commissioned quilt. It is a version of my ‘Up Close and Personal – Tiger’. He wanted a Siberian Tiger, though, so I just omitted the orange pieces and changed the eyes to blue. I think I may package this and sell it as a separate pattern.

Image

I have also just started on a competition quilt for Fabricland/Fabricville. For reasons of secrecy, I will wait until after the deadline of Oct 31 before I show you the pics…wish me luck!!

This week, I have 5 of my quilts in a show in Charlottetown. I volunteered there yesterday and was able to see some amazing quilts, done by islanders. Many different methods, patterns, and fabrics were used but they were all wonderful.

Here are a few shots…..

The quilts….

Image

Image

The Crazy Quilts were amazing!

Image

Image

That one was made with old campaign ribbons!

Image

Image

Besides the beautiful quilts, there were many wonderful hooked rugs there….

Image

Image

Image

Image

There were a few Needle felted projects there as well…..

IMG_6795

 

And, of course, the setting for the show was a marvelous old, stone, heritage church….St Paul’s in Charlottetown.

IMG_6796

It was a real treat for me to meet the famous Singing Quilter, Cathy MIller. She’s one of the teachers aboard a quilting cruise ship in the harbour here and came to the show while I was there! Such an interesting gal to talk to! We persuaded her to sing one of her lovely songs from the front of the church where the acoustics were amazing. A real treat! Thanks, Cathy!!

I apologize for the out-of -focus pics of the show…I took them with my phone, then took pics of those pictures with my camera….some detail was lost in translation!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2013 3:27 pm

    Carol, it is so good to see you back in your element. I’ve missed you.

  2. Glenda permalink
    September 26, 2013 3:37 pm

    So good to hear from you Carol! Love and blessings to you – Look forward to seeing your work when it’s done. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

