Skip to content

Farm stuff…(whatever happened to the quilting??)

July 25, 2012

This entry is just to show you that we have been doing things. Yeah, I know I should be in my studio coming up with my next ‘masterpiece’ but farm things keep ‘cropping’ up and have to be done!

Here is what has been going on in our garage reno…

We poured a cement floor. Remember, Trev put down heating pipes and those had to be suspended in the cement. We ended up by placing long strips of styrofoam under the wire grid to hold the whole thing up.

The truck arrives…I love the paint job!

Just before he began to pour, I asked him to put some dish soap into the mix in the truck. He said no-one had ever asked him to do that! I told him that a crazy neighbour said that it worked to keep the cement a light colour and makes it harder. (See, we tried it, Gord!) He added it and I must say that even now, a week or so later, it is a very light, almost white colour.

Trev rented a power tool to smooth the surface. Then, they leveled it off with a long, heavy metal strip…

I might add here that, while cleaning this metal bar off later, it fell on my head giving me a concussion!! Ouchh!!

The final product…

After the floor hardened, we were able to get in and start framing the walls. ( When I say we, I mean Trev!)

Here’s the BEFORE shot…

And the AFTER shot…

See that window on the floor? It went here…

So yesterday, we started putting boards onto the ceiling. (this time, I really mean WE!) It didn’t go very well. I may take pics today so that you can see how it’s going.

Other news…

We bought a new (to us) square baler. It arrived on a truck because the tires were in no shape to pull it home.

Work has been continuing in the garlic patch as well. I finally got the last of the scapes taken off. It almost seemed like they grew back overnight because I could do a whole row and the next day, there were tons still to cut in the same row! We got a whole, heaping tub full for each row. I didn’t really know what to do with them all. We found out that they taste really good if tossed in oil and bar-b-qued but what else?

I looked up some recipes for pickled garlic scapes on-line and found a likely one. I made about 19 quarts before deciding that was enough!

The recipe…

Cut the long tips and flower heads off the scapes.

Put them into sterilized jars.

I left them whole because I like the look of them in the jars. Some people chop them up. Your choice.

Cover them with boiling vinegar mixture. 5 cups water, 3 cups vinegar and 1/4 cup pickling salt. (This is for about 2 quarts)

Process them in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

Here’s what they look like now.

And the cute shot for the day…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    July 25, 2012 3:43 pm

    Carol! Hope your concussion is just a mild one! Know a lady here who stood up under a too-low ceiling and gave herself a severe concussion. That was just before Easter. She is still not back to normal!
    Had garlic scapes as part of a very nice meal in a restaurant lately. You could have been selling yours to restaurants! I had never been aware of them previously.

  2. July 25, 2012 6:25 pm

    I wish I had just half of Trev and your energy. God bless you two hard workers. I have never tried or seen garlic scapes in any grocery store yet. Interesting!

  3. brenda testu permalink
    July 25, 2012 6:57 pm

    oh Carol. You are sooooo clever. Are the cats in the last pic your nw ones?

    • July 26, 2012 11:11 am

      The cats in the picture are two barn kitties given to us by a neighbour. They are quite wild and only recently have relaxed enough to come within 3 feet of me when I feed them. They are usually outside on sunny days, playing together. It’s fun to watch them!

  4. Denise Robinson permalink
    July 25, 2012 7:50 pm

    wow, you’re making me tired just reading what you’ve been up to! Don’t overdo it but enjoy some of the summer.

  5. Nicole permalink
    July 25, 2012 8:55 pm

    scape and arugula (or something else leafy and green) pesto!

  6. July 25, 2012 11:53 pm

    A concussion, yikes!!
    I seem to be hearing about garlic scapes a lot suddenly. I like the way they look in the jars!

  7. Glenda permalink
    July 26, 2012 12:55 am

    Love seeing the pics and hearing what’s going on with you guys. Blessings and much love. A & G

  8. July 30, 2012 7:27 pm

    We made pesto (no cheese or nuts) out of garlic scapes and vacuum sealed it in small packages then put it in the freezer. We defrost it and use it on pasta, pizza instead of sauce, in stir fries…. We love scapes!
    Barb@Witsend

  9. Janet permalink
    August 28, 2012 8:44 pm

    Our neighbour gave us garlic scapes recently. Hadn’t a clue what to do with them.

Leave a Reply

