Skip to content

Pfun with the Pfaff…

June 21, 2012

I’ve been playing. Yup. The Pfaff Creative Performance Embroidery machine that I won at the quilt show is really great!

So far, it has been doing all the work while I (the assistant) just hang around, change thread, ooh and ahhh, and invite friends over to watch the show!

It came with loads of attachments, tons of on-board images, and 3 hoops of various sizes…

You can see some of the earlier playing around I did. I started small and then went for broke and did some of the bigger ones.

It did not come with a dust cover so I decided to make one. I found this really cool picture with butterflies and set it up. Here it is just getting going…

And a bit later…

And…

I also found a neat scroll and it stitched that on…

So here’s the front of the cover…

The lettering I did (that’s why it’s not as perfect as the rest-I’m still getting used to the free-motion foot)

Here’s that big butterfly…

Such incredible detail!

The back…

I love how the gold outline looks like beads…

OK, I made a peacock feather as a request for my daughter.

And I’m throwing in this cute one for her daughter…

I’ll need to find something for her son, too!

I didn’t get the purple accessory bag with the machine so I took a purple lunch bag that my husband didn’t want and stitched this Victorian design and hand-sewed it on to cover a logo that I didn’t need.

Works for me!

I also finished knitting a beaded purse in the last week. I ordered the brass purse frame from Hong Kong. Here is the purse with one  end sewn on…

And the finished product…

I have also been plugging away at the scarves but when it is hot out, the wool sticks to my fingers so I don’t work on them a lot!

Last, but not least, I have some recent pictures of Max (Maxwell Smart!)

And Leo…

Such a hard life!! They’re tired all day because they run all over the place at night. That includes my bed! I’m glad their hard, catnip ball is finally downstairs. That was REALLY noisy when it bounced down at 3:00 in the morning!

I am trying to think of a great quilt idea for next year’s show….anyone???

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda permalink
    June 22, 2012 2:24 am

    A true Artist!!! Put anything in your hand and it comes out looking stunning. Would love to have you bring your art work here to Franklin to one of our events we have here in the community…it would go like wildfire (cuz people have money here and pay for that kind of thing freely)…Love to you guys.
    A & G

  2. Joyce Arbogast permalink
    June 22, 2012 11:35 am

    Carol, Ed and I went up to Cape Cod in March. How about a beach scene with those aderondake chairs and sailboats. Love sailboats! What do you think? Does it sound exciting or not as a new quilt idea? Such a relaxing scene.

  3. fran permalink
    June 28, 2012 2:12 pm

    Do you have any quilts on display in PEI now? Would love to see them in real life while we are there next week.

  4. July 24, 2012 8:34 pm

    Looks like so much fun!! : )

  5. September 12, 2012 2:27 pm

    Oh My Gosh!!! That butterfly is amazing!!!!

    • September 13, 2012 6:02 pm

      It is cool, isn’t it. I love watching the machine do intricate embroidery. Of course, it is keeping me from quilting!!

Leave a Reply

