Skip to content

Scarf situation…

May 1, 2012

As promised, here is what the scarves look like.

Here is one that I just finished and is still blocked.

What do you think, Kate?

This is Joan’s…

Here’s one I just started a couple of days ago for Wendy.

And as well as the scarves, I am knitting myself a summer top. This is the back so far.

The front will be lace. I am using the same lace weight 100% wool that all the scarves are made of.

I was playing around with my camera yesterday and took some pictures of my guppies…

And here’s two of my three babies…

I love the bright colours in this picture!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. caityrosey permalink
    May 2, 2012 12:50 am

    That red scarf is lovely.

  2. Adela permalink
    May 3, 2012 3:19 pm

    Oh I love the scarf. So what is blocking. Do you apply anything to help keep the shape? I was told to send my items back East for a good steam. What do you recommend? A

    • May 4, 2012 1:22 pm

      Adela,Blocking is pinning out an item to the size you want after wetting it thoroughly first. This works the best with woolen items. I use styrofoam sheets to pin my scarves to. It usually only takes a day or two if it is sunny outside! I just wet the scarf in cool water (no soap) without agitating it too much. A careful squeezing is OK. Then, I just stretch it out and pin. The worst thing to do with woolen items (if you don’t want to ‘felt’ them) is combine hot water with agitation and soap.

  3. Dierdrea permalink
    May 4, 2012 3:22 am

    😦 where’s mine……

  4. August 7, 2012 11:32 am

    I have had guppies for almost 10 years now. I’m finally down to my last few. At one point 5 years ago I had a 55 gallon tank full.

    • August 7, 2012 9:31 pm

      That’s a lot of guppies! I have the two tanks now…I am putting the really pretty ones together in the hopes that they make really interesting babies. We’ll see…Did you ever sell any of yours?

Leave a Reply

