Skip to content

Feels like Spring!

March 22, 2012

Latest on ‘Celise’

I received an email yesterday saying that ‘Celise’ was accepted into the Canadian National Juried Show! Now I have to add the hanging sleeve and label on the back and tweak a few spots.Here is a picture of her once more…

The show is in Halifax this year and I have already booked our hotel room. Yes, I’m hoping my hubby can go with me. The quilt will need to be there during the first week in May as the show is May 30-June 2.

Yesterday, it felt so much like Spring, with really warm weather (23 degrees) that we did some things outside.

At this point, I have to apologize to my husband. As I was downloading about 200 pictures this morning of him climbing a 40′ ladder onto the barn roof to repair the end cap on the ridge, something happened and EVERY picture I took yesterday was deleted. They are not on the camera and they are not in the computer! So Sorry!!

It was a very heroic effort on his part. The ladder was borrowed along with a safety harness. He began with it on the ground but it didn’t reach high enough so we drove the truck into place and he (with the help of our awesome neighbour…again…thanks, Gord) put the ladder onto the truck bed which was just high enough to get to the ‘hip’ on the barn roof. He had to scale the heights first without a harness so he could screw in an eye bolt to the ridge. He accomplished that and then froze for a few minutes. He wasn’t sure if he would even get down! He did eventually make it down and climbed a couple of times more during the whole process.

Good job, hon!

Scarf update…

Kate’s is completed…

Anne’s is coming along…

And now I had a free magnetized board so you know how nature abhors a vacuum?

I bought some more wool, chose a pattern and set it up…

In the next day or so, I’ll tell you whose scarf it will be. Keep posted. Don’t you love my cute ladybug magnets?

Calf update…

We had 5 calves but one was a preemie and didn’t make it. We are now letting them all out into the back loafing barn to enjoy the afternoon sun. I went out there this morning to get some pictures but as soon as I entered the barn, they all just HAD to mob me. It is hard to take shots while running around bales of hay to get far enough away to take shots! Here they are …not the best angles or focus!!

Major is now almost 5 months…

This little pot-bellied pig…I mean angus calf is Axe who is 3 months…

Here are Opus (mostly white) and Red. Opus is 1 month old and Red (our female) is just over 1 week old. She is really big!

Hopefully, I will get some better shots at some point.

Well, that’s what’s been happening lately.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 4:12 pm

    23 degrees! We had a dusting of snow last night. But I think it’s the last try. There’s a lot of dirt showing (as of yesterday) and I even raked a few areas and hauled away a pickup load of sticks. Now to spread compost…after this snow is melted.

    • March 27, 2012 5:33 pm

      Not warm any more! We are in the middle of a blizzard now. The warm day was only a big tease!

  2. Glenda permalink
    March 22, 2012 4:24 pm

    So great to hear from you Carol….the picture really is lovely. The scarves are great as well…and it looks like you and us are receiving the lovely weather being longed for in snow bound places such as Kelowna. Hugs to you and T. A & G.

  3. Lori permalink
    March 22, 2012 10:49 pm

    Halo from Colorado Carol! I’m busily trying to calculate 23 C into fahrenheit….wow, that is warm! (Don’t ask me why Americans can’t seem to grasp the metric system…) We too are supposed to have really warm weather this weekend–time to clean out the flower beds. The garden just needs to be tilled and its ready to go. Glorious Spring! There really is something renewing about it. Congrats on the quilt being accepted. You certainly deserve it. The scarves are gorgeous, and the next one looks like an interesting pattern as well. And the color? The five little calves look pretty darned happy about the nice weather too. Enjoy the sun!

  4. Adela permalink
    March 27, 2012 4:42 pm

    It looks like farm life is where you are meant to be. I am so happy for you. All your projects reflect your personality, lovely on the inside and out. I hope this quilt makes it to California.

    • March 27, 2012 5:35 pm

      I hope it gets to California, too! Maybe Road to California? Would love to hear about any projects you’ve been working on lately.

  5. Joan Massey permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:14 pm

    That’s AWESOME news on “Celise” !! Congrats! I know you’ll do really well! Hopefully Trev will be able to go with you and turn it into a bit of a holiday.
    That would make it extra nice!
    Those calves are sure growing up – and five now, my goodness. They are really cute. 🙂
    Those scarves are looking really nice! That blue is very rich looking – I like it.
    The view out your window is much like the views around where I live. Hope the snow stays away from your neck of the woods!

  6. sandrine malleron permalink
    May 7, 2012 12:43 pm

    just to say how beautiful Celise is! I am really waiting for the show results, but anyway, it’s too beautiful!
    I have signed up so I can hear more about you, even if I am really far away from PEI

Leave a Reply

