Skip to content

I’m done!

February 21, 2012

Yesterday, I pushed my machine really hard and finished the background. It looked like this…

After all the stitching on the background, the main image started to buckle a bit! I had a little panic attack, then remembered someone saying that she wet and stretched her quilt to flatten it. I calmed down, sponged my quilt front and back and pinned it to the wall overnight. The above photo actually shows the pins in it.

This morning, the quilt was a lot flatter and I breathed a large sigh of relief!

Next, I had to measure and square it up, cutting off the excess. That went well.

I then made some seam binding out of the same black fabric that I used in the quilt. I cut a long strip (luckily, one strip made it all the way around. I was really pleased not to have to piece strips together! ) The strip was 2″ wide. I ironed it in half, then each half was ironed in half again, making a 1/2″ seam binding. I moved downstairs, watched some episodes of Roswell on Netflix and hand sewed the binding on. If you leave a 5-6″ tail hanging when you begin sewing on your seam binding; when you get to the end, you can sew the ends together diagonally and you can hardly see the join.

Well, I finished around 5:00pm and took the shots of the quilt that I would need for my entry CD. Here they are…

I also wrote my 75 word artist statement for the entry CD.

I began calling stores to see if I could email my pictures and the artist statement and have them put on a CD. WalMart couldn’t, Superstore couldn’t. Staples finally came to the rescue! They will have my CD in the morning (plus a 4×6 print) and I can use Purolator to send them right from the store.

Well, I’ll keep you posted. I will find out if it is accepted in the show around the end of March.

Keep on stitchin!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:07 pm

    Like this Carol. Great job. Hugs to you.

  2. Lori permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:48 pm

    Carol,
    Congrats! Have a glass of wine and celebrate! Looks great. What kind of sewing machine do you have? Must be a work horse! I just bought an antique treadle Singer sewing machine (I love antiques) and it still works! Job well done!

  3. brenda testu permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:52 pm

    good luck, I just know that it will be accepted. It is beautiful.

  4. Deborah permalink
    February 22, 2012 12:20 am

    It looks great Carol.

  5. Louise permalink
    February 22, 2012 3:13 am

    Hi Carol,
    Thanks for the pictures of your progress, it has been fantastic to see your art emerge.
    Let us know if you are accepted, and I certainly cant imagine that they won’t accept your entry.
    It is so beautiful, I just love it.
    Louise

  6. Joan Massey permalink
    February 24, 2012 10:19 pm

    Looks marvelous, Carol!
    I expect it to do very well!! The detail work is just amazing….. Thanks for sharing the process with us all!

  7. Adela permalink
    February 25, 2012 5:07 am

    Well Done! Good luck. I can’t remember seeing anything like this at the Road to California quilt show. I am sure this will get into the Canada Show. I hope it travels so I will be able to see it.

Leave a Reply

