Skip to content

I finally got started!

February 13, 2012

OK, I had thread, the machine was having a good day, my muse was present, it was sunny outside (it was -17!!) I decided to get started. I had been thinking about how I was going to stitch Celise’s head. I had tried a few different things and didn’t like the look I was getting. I thought that maybe stitching lines really close together might work so that is what I did…

By lunch time, this is what she looked like…

Most of the stitching was done with clear polyester invisible thread with clear invisible in the bobbin as well. I wanted the forehead to be slightly blended so I used a darker pink thread and went back and forth.

Something like this has to be quilted from the middle out. I started with the eyes and worked out to the edges and up the forehead (not down from the top) This helps to eliminate puckers.

You can see here that I haven’t done her hair yet but she basically looks the same as before (which is what I wanted!) She is also really flat now…also what I wanted. Flat quilts roll and travel nicely!

I notice from this picture that the line between her jaw and her neck is awkward looking. I will have to do something about that. I also left the tip of her nose unstitched but that looks wrong as well.

By 3:30, I had the hair done and the soother. I may need more stitches on the soother but I will wait and see if it flattens out when the surrounding area is stitched.

So, now the hair is done. I added a bit more black tulle to her little finger on the left hand. I decided to tackle that hand when I am fresh. I don’t make good decisions when I am tired.

More tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. brenda testu permalink
    February 13, 2012 11:02 pm

    What an exciting project. Keep us posted.

  2. Glenda permalink
    February 14, 2012 3:29 pm

    Great job! Looks wonderful. Blessings,

  3. Adela permalink
    February 16, 2012 5:05 pm

    Her face is perfect, and I love her hair. Can’t wait to see fingers emerging.

Leave a Reply

