Skip to content

Come for a drive with me…

February 5, 2012

We decided to go for a drive to Charlottetown (45 min away) I took some photos during the drive.

The first thing I’ll show you is the thick, piled-up ice along the shore…

And a scene of houses in the mist along the other side of an inlet…

OK, here we are in old-town Charlottetown.

I love all the bright colours!

Now we start back home.

The picturesque churches with steeples look charming.

Here is one of my favourite views. I love seeing the ocean as we top the last rise before our place. We live near the ocean on the left.

This is Gateway Village; the tourist area at our end of the bridge. Of course, it is all closed up right now and won’t open until around June when tourist season picks up again.

These are a few shots around the bridge…

The dark land mass at the far end is New Brunswick. The bridge is about 12 km long!

Our little post office…

Arriving back home at our farm…

And the sun goes down at the end of another beautiful PEI day…

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    February 6, 2012 1:52 am

    Very pretty scenery! There are so many variations on beautiful scenery all across Canada. I’ve enjoyed the area that I’ve been living in these past 8 or so years – always think it is like “living in a postcard”!

  2. S. Jones permalink
    February 6, 2012 3:16 am

    Good job, Carol! What a beautiful province.

  3. BC Marilyn permalink
    February 6, 2012 7:29 am

    Thanks for the “drive” on the other side of Canada from me. I live above two small lakes inl lower central British Columbia and like Janet Jones said, it is like living in a postcard. Today we watched ice skaters, fishermen and ice car racers on the big lake. Someone was cross country skiing on the smaller one while a couple of eagles soared overhead.
    BC Marilyn – proud to be a Canadian

  4. February 6, 2012 8:13 am

    Hi, I’ve just found your blog, and am not sure which I love more – your quilts or the views of your beautiful island! I’ve added you to my reader so i can see more!

  5. Lori permalink
    February 13, 2012 5:09 pm

    Carol:
    Your pictures make me ‘homesick’ :o). I recognize the houses in Charlottetown from when I visited. I want to visit again. I have this crazy urge to spend a night or two at Dalvay-by-the-Sea. I better save my pennies! All I can say is, I wish I was born Canadian. Alas……

Leave a Reply

