Skip to content

A very belated ‘HAPPY NEW YEAR’ to everyone!

January 26, 2012

I know, I know…I haven’t been very diligent in keeping you updated, have I?

I have been enjoying our rather mild winter here. We have had lots of sunshine, flurries, snowstorms, and always the wind! Our temperature is averaging around the 0 Celsius mark. I have a few pictures to show you…

This one was taken on Dec 23…

My husband and I actually went for a walk on the beach in early January! I was strange not to hear the surf, though. Everything is frozen with huge, square chunks of ice all tumbled together on the beach. Amazingly enough, I was able to find one piece of sea glass.

Here is one from yesterday, (Jan 25)…

You can see the garlic patch just above the peaked roof. This shot was taken out the closet window in my studio.

Here is one I just took this morning…

This was taken from the sun porch. Flurries today.

Okay, now we’ve discussed the weather…on to other things.

I haven’t been quilting but I have been knitting again. I finally finished the green leaf-patterned scarf that I began last year. I wet it and stretched it onto a couple of long pieces of styrofoam using pins every 3″ or so.

This is to be a birthday gift for a daughter this year. I plan on making a scarf for each of my 3 daughters this year. (and, hopefully, my mom, sisters, and a friend! Heads up, all of you!) High ambition! We’ll see…

Here’s a close-up of that scarf…

I have now started on another scarf. I combined the edging from one pattern and the body from another. If you look closely, you can see the very tiny sequins that are part of the yarn…

I have also started another knitting project using the longest ‘Knifty Knitter’ from Michaels. More on that later.

Another quilt is in the works, as well. So far, I have the idea! Those of you who followed the creation of ย ‘Celise’ will understand the process. I will be doing a matching one of her brother, Micah, using the same technique. This is a good example of why it is not always good to push on and get something finished right away. I have been auditioning background fabrics for ‘Celise’ and had decided on the yellow/green dappled fabric. When I received a photo album for Christmas from Celise and Micah’s mom, it contained a perfect companion picture. The background is black and looks great. I now think that I will put them both on black backgrounds so that they match.

Here’s the new photo…

See what I mean? What a perfect pair!

I hope to begin on ‘Micah’ soon and will keep you posted on progress. Don’t be afraid to ask questions or comment with thoughts of your own…love to hear them.

Bye

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 5:05 pm

    The laced scarf is beautiful

  2. Glenda permalink
    January 26, 2012 7:00 pm

    Great to see the pictures and hear how you two are. LOVE the leaf patterned scarf….very pretty and feminine. Trust you all are well. We’re headed to Canada Monday and will be there for the month of Feb. Let us know if you end up in the Okanogan by some freak event. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings to you friend. G

  3. January 26, 2012 8:01 pm

    Both scarves are lovely! Nice work!

  4. Lori permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:36 pm

    So glad to hear from you! The scarf is gorgeous–agreed, most feminine. Almost web like in its intricate beauty. You are a very talented woman, my friend. Blessed indeed. Loved the pictures also, and am so glad you send them around.

    Hope you enjoyed your family over the holidays. I love the holidays, but am always glad when routine comes back.

    Kind Regards, Lori

  5. January 26, 2012 10:51 pm

    Great job on the scarf! I love how lacy knitted things transform when they are blocked. Excited to read about your knitting plans for this year! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Lezley permalink
    January 28, 2012 5:05 am

    hi Carol! what a beautful place you have! and i love your quilting! now i know why hubby’s cousin Ria in Kelowna says we should connect! we both quilt similar landscapes. and i’ve done portraits too (she doesn’t know that). i will sign up to your blog notification. are you planning to attend the Canadian Quilters’ Association conference in Halifax in May/June 2012?

  7. Adela permalink
    February 8, 2012 5:03 am

    What a great photo. Can’t wait to see this quilt come to life.

Leave a Reply

