Skip to content

A quilt is finished!

December 20, 2011

Well, I can now fill you in on my latest creation. It was for a good friend’s birthday (which was yesterday) so I can now post the pictures.

This quilt is a picture of the neighbouring farm where my friend grew up and still milks his herd of holsteins. I took the reference photos last summer so you can see that I’ve been thinking about (putting off) this project for a while!

The pictures I posted on my last blog show the beginning of the quilt…the sky and distant tree line. I had purchased some ‘Super Solvy’ a water soluble stabilizer from ‘Sulky’. I had never tried it before so thought I would give it a go. There are a few trees in this picture and to stitch them right on the quilt would cause massive puckering. Here is a shot of the main tree completed…

Solvy is like a light-weight slightly opaque plastic. You can place it right over your photo or whatever, and draw on it with felt pen. Then you put it into a hoop (shown below) and slide it under your free-motion foot. I use a small zig-zag stitch and start layering colours to fill it in. I used a black for the darkest bits and then 2 other variegated threads for the lighter sections. Here are the rest of the trees still in the hoop…

This type of hoop is the only one thin enough to fit under the foot.

After stitching (making sure that all the stitches overlap each other!) you run it under water and the plastic dissolves, leaving your image which can then be sewn down onto your quilt. Easy!

This is a picture of the buildings before I placed them on the quilt…

Here are some pictures of the finished project…

 

 

Some final details were done with water colours and pencil crayons…shadows, etc.

Anyway, there it is.

Oh, we got a tiny skiff of snow today. We’ll see how long it lasts!

 

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    December 20, 2011 10:40 pm

    Wow! Carol, that is gorgeous! I hope that Aunt Joyce knows how to look at this blog of yours. Apparently she is interested in, and I think has started doing some landscape quilts. Super work!!! Love it! I am waiting for the Christmas holiday to be over with – and then will get back to some hand quilting on the blocks of a quilt that I’ve been working on. The hand quilting will be just on the blocks, and shall do machine quilting in the sashing and the border. Think I shall wait till it is done before I take photos of it.
    Baking some cookies today. Shall take probably most of them over to Nelson.
    Happy Christmas!

  2. louise permalink
    December 20, 2011 11:47 pm

    thanks for the great ideas, I will post a picture of my quilt for you to see.
    Merry Christmas, no snow for me but we are expecting floods again this year, so think of Australia now and then.
    I enjoy your blog and hope you continure next year.

  3. Lori permalink
    December 20, 2011 11:51 pm

    Carol,
    I think this is my favorite so far–just because it brings back the wonderful memories and beauty that is PEI. Thank you so much for sharing with the world.
    Lori

  4. S. Jones permalink
    December 21, 2011 12:30 am

    Carol
    As Aunt Janet said “Wow”!!! Your friend must have blown away.
    Mum

  5. Glenda permalink
    December 24, 2011 5:35 pm

    As always Carol…a marvelous quilt. Love all the unique forms you’ve put into it.

    Blessings to you and Trevor this Christmas season.

    A & G

  6. Joan Massey permalink
    December 26, 2011 6:20 pm

    WOW!! I just love the detail in this one! The tress are so very good – but then, so are the fields, the buildings – just amazing!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!!
    Love,
    Joan

  7. December 31, 2011 3:34 am

    Wow, fabulous. I also do pictorial quilts and I love learning new techniques. I will definitely give the water soluable stabilizer a try. I love the three dimensional look you get with it. Thank you for your blog.

Leave a Reply

