Skip to content

This and that…

December 15, 2011

 

Well, here’s what has been going on around here.

I have been working on a quilt. I will give you a tip on creating a distant tree line as I just did it yesterday and took some photos…

This shot shows the sky – stitched in straight lines to show calm. It also means that the sky won’t take over from the main focus of the picture.

I will show you a picture of the trees in progress…

I used a variegated thread for interest. You can see here that I cut the green fabric to form spikes. Hold the fabric up with the top facing you and snip at a slight diagonal. Then snip back over the same section on the other diagonal and spikes will form. Make sure that your diagonals are really steep, just off straight up and down, actually. It also creates a more realistic tree line if your spikes are not all the same length.

Then, stitch over your spikes, extending onto the background fabric. The stitched lines should also be differing lengths. For really distant trees, a very dark green or even black thread works the best.

So much for quilting.

I also have been knitting a couple of hats for granddaughters and a cross stitch picture (also a gift). Pictures to come after Christmas.

Now, onto our calves.

We decided that the calves needed to learn to walk with a halter and lead rope. Here’s Major’s first time…

You can see that he started to enjoy himself!

I am always amazed at how far cow’s tongues can reach!

Then it was Accidental’s turn. (We call him Axe)

He is 2 weeks old today, by the way…

He wasn’t so sure about this…

He is a cutie…

Even his tongue is black!

The kitten has become great friends with both calves. I got these shots of him with Major…

That’s the animal’s news, now onto decorating…

Here are some recent shots of my decorating. The tree is now finished…

Here are some close-ups showing ornaments that I have painted…

That one was, of course, a painting of the red cliffs of PEI

That one was the parlour with our beautiful parlour grand piano. It is the same age as our house…around 100 yrs old!

I did basically the same thing with the mantle as last year. I intend to change it next year. Note the incredible size of the poinsettia that my husband brought me from the Costco in St John!

My main entry stairs. A little dark but you get the idea.

This is a dramatic photo of our dining room just before a recent party.

Trev had cooked some wonderful Cornish Game Hens…here’s his presentation (again, a rather dramatic photo)

Well, you get the drift…

We are planning another party after Christmas, maybe I’ll include some more photos of that one.

Anyone want to comment on their holiday preparations and/or parties? I’d love to hear about them!

And this beautiful shot that I took one foggy day…

Well, have a blessed Christmas everyone. I have enjoyed sharing our farm and quilting lives with all of you this past year. More to come in the new year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    December 15, 2011 5:19 pm

    Great Post! I love the ornaments you painted and the decorations are beautiful. I can’t remember seeing a picture of the outside of your house. I’m curious to see it, now that I’ve viewed the inside! What a gorgeous house. I hope you realize how blessed you are living this kind of life in PEI. Thank you for sharing. It makes my holidays bright!
    Lori/
    Fort Collins, Colorado, U.S.

  2. Glenda permalink
    December 15, 2011 10:02 pm

    Hi friends! Hmmm….I love the two winter scenes you painted on the ornaments…particularly the first one…reminds me of the picture you painted for me years ago. Can I talk you into doing the other 3 seasons yet? Your tree is gorgeous. This year I cut back a lot on decorations….even on the details to the tree…now I miss it having seen yours and how full and gorgeous it looks. Would love to have dinner….want to come over? 🙂 Love the calves….I had to laugh at the one “picking his nose”. Did you see in our last note the pics of Andrew and I feeding the new calves? Sometimes I REALLY miss country living. Anyhow, you would LOVE Franklin. You would truly just go crazy with pics and stitching a pictorial quilt…Now, that’s a good idea. And, you would definitely have a place to sell it here. When can you two come? Love to you and look forward to hearing more from you.

  3. Janet Jones permalink
    December 17, 2011 1:54 am

    Merry Christmas, Carol & Trevor! Love seeing your blog and all that you are doing. Can’t help but think that Don would have enjoyed seeing your agricultural endeavors, and the wood for heating, etc., etc. I miss him so terribly much. Am in tears more than I want to be, but I can’t help it…. when I think about him, and what he used to do around here – and through our life in the past.
    Your house decorating looks incredible – but then, you have a really special sort of house to work with – like that lovely staircase, the mantle, etc. And your beautiful dinner table – Wow!
    The platter of Cornish hens looks positively delicious! I really need to push myself to get back to some cooking. Don was so wonderful to cook for – he ate everything, and enjoyed it so much. Now I find it so difficult to find some incentive to cook anything.
    Have a very Happy and Blessed Christmas!
    Lots of love from Janet.

  4. cindy permalink
    January 4, 2012 1:30 pm

    Those calves are so cute!! I love the ornament with the red cliffs. When I was a kid we used to vacation on PEI every year, I really miss it.

Leave a Reply

