Skip to content

Quilt news, Farming and Decorating…

December 2, 2011

 

My vacationing quilt, Reflections, arrived back at home from Texas yesterday afternoon. It will now be retired (unless I decide to sell it) and will hang on one of my walls. I also received a registered post that had me confused for a while until I realized it was a copy of the International Quilt Festival magazine. Reflections made it in!! I was so excited to see that, after the let-down of not winning anything at the show!

Here is the page showing my quilt…

Out of the 350 quilts in the show, they chose 23 to put into the magazine!

OK, now the farming bit…

Here’s Major now…

We also have a barn kitten given to us by our neighbour…

His name is Minor…

Major and Minor (can you tell that we have a musical background?) can always be seen together and the kitten is underfoot the whole time we are feeding the calf. Fun!

A couple of days ago, when I went out to feed them, there were 2 orange kittens. It was a mystery until I saw their mother over here trying to get the two of them to follow her back home. She was still trying today and may have been successful in enticing the second kitty to follow her but Minor is still here!

This morning our second calf was born next door. He is a Holstein/Angus cross. We should get him in the next couple of days-just as soon as we create a pen for him. His name is Accidental!

This is an interesting shot looking out from the barn…

That was two days ago!! Doesn’t look much like winter, does it? I love it!!

Now, the decorating section…

I have been working on the house and so far have most of the rooms done. Here is an early shot of  this year’s tree. (I finished adding ornaments today…no picture yet)

The idea for the bells between the windows was my husband’s. I love them. We did have to change them from the state they were originally, though! Here’s a detail without the warm lighting…

Well, that’s all for now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    December 5, 2011 3:26 pm

    Oh excellent! I am so glad it made it into the magazine. What an accomplishment! I can’t believe how green the grass is there–in December! PEI is gorgeous. No matter what the weather. I’m so glad you have this blog and are willing to share it with us wanna-bees. Take care, stay warm and Merry Christmas to all, and especially to Major and Minor!
    Lori

  2. December 8, 2011 9:19 pm

    Ah, mom…your curtains. They’re short. Are you going to fix that? Please? Congratulations on your quilt being famous!

Leave a Reply

