Skip to content

More outside work…

November 17, 2011

 

Well, yesterday we borrowed our neighbour’s hay trailer and picked up 7 round bales of straw to cover our rows of garlic. This first shot is one I like of our truck, but the trailer looks shorter than it really is…

 

Here is a shot showing just how long that trailer is…

 

This morning, that same neighbour also let us use his tractor (thank you G______!) and Trev picked up each bale and placed it at the end of a row…

 

When we went to start unrolling, we found that the first bale was facing the wrong way…didn’t think of that! Trev had to remove all the bales and stick them out in the field so we could check each one. It took a bit to figure out which way they would unroll, but we finally got it. We placed each one with the tractor and unrolled it before doing the next one…

Here is the patch with the straw in place…

Yesterday, we also rented a log splitter and some friends came over and helped split all of the huge logs. The ones behind the splitter are only a small portion of the pile that had to be done! We got all of it split and thrown into the basement. Yea!!!!

 

Now, during the next few weeks, I get to load up a wheelbarrow in the basement with the split logs and take them to the other side and stack them. Yee haw!!

I do plan on getting to some quilting soon!!!!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    November 17, 2011 1:36 am

    Love that hay wagon! What a great idea for moving hay. That’s a pretty sweet tractor, too. They sure come in handy, eh? Your garlic rows look good to go – all ready for winter. Once the bad weather comes, I’m sure you’ll be more motivated to take up quilting. Meanwhile, I think you’re gonna have big muscles from all that lifting and moving of wood! Glad you’re having fun….

  2. Janet Jones permalink
    November 17, 2011 2:52 am

    Wow! Think that is really neat how you two are getting into the agricultural type of lifestyle! Think Don would be impressed… I spent some of this afternoon raking leaves on one of our three lawn areas – and of course that made me miss him so terribly much. Thought about how he would have been doing that – and probably a lot earlier than I was doing it. He always did jobs like that – and really spoiled me! And just as predicted, we are getting snow this evening. Beverly says it is really dumping over in Nelson. I would say winter has begun.
    I also had to pack in wood. That is the thing about wood heat – one has to get the wood into the stove! I bought two pickup loads this summer – one just in blocks, and the other split. Should have gotten both loads split. Think it was only $30. more. Now someone has to do some splitting for me.

  3. Lori permalink
    November 17, 2011 3:25 pm

    I’m new watching your blog. I visited PEI last year and fell in love with it. You folks are so lucky! I’m so looking forward to watching your farm and PEI through your eyes. Also, I’m a a big quilter–so this is the perfect blog for me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

