Skip to content

Yes, I am still here!

September 29, 2011

I know it’s been a while since my last entry. I haven’t been doing much quilting, preferring to be outdoors in this marvelous, hot, sunny weather we’ve been having!

To catch up with things around here…we lost our Russian Olive tree during hurricane Irene and ended up cutting it all down. Russian Olives are notorious for being weak so it didn’t come as a surprise.

We have been working on our front field- much to the delight of a large flock of seagulls which has taken up residence there! After plowing once and harrowing many times, we borrowed the neighbour’s seeder (the neighbour came with it) and seeded the field with an assorted pasture grass mix with some barley thrown in. The seagulls loved it! They ate quite a lot of the barley in the first couple of days.

Here’s the rig behind the tractor…

There’s a long ‘step’ across the back for someone to stand on and check that the seeds are deep enough and coming out properly…

I will add a picture of the field now as soon as I take a good one. (It’s almost all green) The seagulls have mostly moved on to ‘browner’ pastures, too! Yay!

We have also started to throw the wood into the basement…well, I’ve started to throw the wood into the basement. I use the wheelbarrow and take about 6 or 7 at a time, wheel them over to the small door into the basement and throw them down. My husband then has to take the wheelbarrow downstairs and load it from the pile and take it across the basement and stack it! We ordered another wheelbarrow but it won’t be in until the middle of October…helpful!

Here’s the pile today. From the wheelbarrow to the left are the huge pieces that I can’t even lift. We have to rent a splitter and make them more manageable. To the right are the logs that have to be sorted…anything up to 10″ in diameter can go into the basement, the big ones are just piled, and the small junk gets added to the burn pile (see it on the lower right) Every now and then, on a calm day, we fire it up and burn everything that we can, all the bits of bark and small twigs, weeds, etc. We usually have hotdogs for supper that night!

Well, with all of this going on, and sunny days to boot, do you blame me for not quilting?

I haven’t heard anything from the International Quilt show in Houston so I’m assuming that I didn’t win anything. Too bad!

I did take a moment to stick a different piece of fabric behind ‘Celise’, though… you’ll probably laugh, it’s so bad!

It’s an attempt to get a slightly out-of-focus look. I know…take it off right away!

I also did finish another UFO. This one is called ‘A Santa Barbara Snowman’

This one was just for fun!

Til next time…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    October 1, 2011 11:48 am

    WELL CAROL, U HAVE BEEN BUSY AND SOUND HAPPY, SO THATS GREAT. I REALLY DONT LIKE THAT BACKING, TRY AGAIN…..SHE IS SO SWEET THERE IS A PERFECT PIECE OF MATERIAL SOMEWHERE. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK, LOVE THE ELDERY GENTLEMAN ON BEHIND THE SEEDER!

  2. October 4, 2011 3:32 pm

    Hey mom, that background isn’t half bad. The diagonal lines make the whole picture stronger and the colours bring out her eyes and compliment her dress. The tie-dyed look is the problem.

  3. October 6, 2011 2:34 am

    Good to hear from you!
    What a great quilt of Celise! I actually agree with ‘farmwife’…can only guess who that is :), it’s not half bad.
    Your place looks great and it must be a lot of work, but fun, to plant the fields.
    We’ll be in touch via email.

  4. Joan Massey permalink
    November 14, 2011 5:31 pm

    Hi Carol! I’m finally catching up on my email today. Nice to see your pictures – looks like you have a real Farmer on your hands, there! LOL! Good for Trev! I am always amazed at how much your pics look like where I’m living… that’s some wood pile you have there! Wood fire is so very nice; it’s the warmest, most comfortable heat. With great weather, I don’t blame you for being outside! Soon enough, the days will get cold and dreary and you will look for indoor pursuits. Time enough to take up quilting then!

Leave a Reply

