Skip to content

Feelin’ Irene!

August 29, 2011

Well, I will start by giving you and update on our past week.

We got a few of our major projects completed. The first one was the sealing of the seams on our quonset roof.

Here is a close-up of the 2 fellows (friends from church) who did the sealing. I took another shot to put it in perspective…

Brave characters! The younger one can go up and down that ladder like it was a staircase!

On Tuesday, we came home from a day in Charlottetown to find scaffolding up, the old chimney bricks on the ground and part of a new one started. The next morning, 2 men showed up and began work…

They did a wonderful job, and we had a new chimney by noon!

My husband finally showed me how to run the tractor and I got to harrow the front 3 acres as well this past week. That was fun!

I am now sitting in the house listening to the strong winds outside as they buffet our trees and flowers. They started sometime during the night. We already put all the equipment away and brought in any small items outside. We are getting lots of sunny breaks between the fast-moving clouds so it is an interesting day, not at all depressing. I may go down to the beach this afternoon with a friend to get some pictures there. I’ll post any really interesting ones.

OK, now for the quilt. Yesterday, I remembered my favourite piece of green fabric. I got it out and pinned it up. I think it is a winner! It doesn’t quite cover the space so I might use a darker bit something like the one I show here. Thoughts? Doesn’t it look like sun-dappled leaves?

The darker fabric near the bottom is big enough to cut a piece for the left side as well.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne &Charlie permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:42 pm

    Hi!Carol, You didn’t blow away! I was wondering if it might be windier where you are?
    I would imagine the waves would be quite high with this wind. I wish I was feeling beter I might invite myself to go to the beach to. ha!
    We will have to get together soon!! Talk soon
    The quilt is beautiful!!
    Love Anne

  2. Janet Jones permalink
    August 29, 2011 2:36 pm

    Yes, Carol, that fabric is perfect! Love it!
    Have been wondering how Hurricane Irene was going to be affecting you there. Since it was less than expected in New York, I hope it is definitely diminished in your area.

  3. August 29, 2011 3:45 pm

    The green fabric is nice but it totally draws your eye away from Celise. Something with a very subtle, soft background might work better. Or even just a warm white, like you’d see in an overexposed photo when the sky is the background. It would work cause the highlights on her head are overexposed to.
    Just my $0.02.

  4. August 29, 2011 4:50 pm

    I agree with Farmwife, a softer green background fabric would work much better for the quilt.

    As for the wind, we got home just in time from Halifax before the storm hit. We’re getting lots of wind down the road here as well. Glad to hear that the roof repairs and new chimney went well.

    • August 29, 2011 6:07 pm

      Well, I am going to go against the flow – I like the fabric; it makes me think of bushes and trees behind her on a summer day. If you framed it with a colour from Celise, that may work at bringing the eye back to her, if you feel it is distracting.
      I enjoyed the pics of your place – What a nice area you live in!

  5. S. Jones permalink
    August 30, 2011 8:25 pm

    This fabric really makes the background recede and Celise come forward. Like it!
    Mum

  6. Glenda permalink
    September 5, 2011 12:44 pm

    Love the green background…yes, it does look like sun-dappled leaves. Hope you fared the storm well…hugs to you both.

Leave a Reply

