Skip to content

Pushing on…

July 27, 2011

First of all, the pile of logs…

We hired a couple of guys to come and buck up the 8′ long logs.

They did it in 6 hours! Now, we would like to hire some students to throw the wood into the basement and stack it again down there! Ha Ha Ha! We are looking at this as our gym and plan on working about 1hr at a time starting in Sept.

Here’s a neat shot one misty morning…

That’s our front field in the foreground.

Alright, on to the quilt ‘Celise’. I had filled in the top of her face and wasn’t sure of my choice of fabrics. I’ll let you see it in its early stage.

I know what you’re saying…what’s with the dark piece on her forehead? I didn’t like it either. Everything came to a halt while I sneaked a peek a few times a day.

After living with it for a few days, I went at it again this morning and took that piece off and replaced it with the main face colour. I will darken it later more subtly with tulle when I start stitching. Actually, a lot of the face detail will be done while stitching so it will look rather blocky for now…bear with me.

Here it is with the new forehead and the rest of her face blocked in…

Then, I went crazy and finished all the main details on her face…

After looking at it, I came to the conclusion that I didn’t like the dark blob at the right of her mouth. I’m sure you all agree!

I replaced it with a smaller, lighter piece and that made a lot of difference…

Thoughts, anyone??

Now, I can move on to her arms.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    July 27, 2011 7:33 pm

    Yes, I agree, Carol. It is looking great so far. Amazing! You are really an artist!

  2. July 28, 2011 10:17 pm

    I agree! I enjoy the progression – lets us see how you are thinking. The 2 big corrections were spot-on. I like it MUCH better now! Lookin’ good!

Leave a Reply

