Skip to content

This and that…

July 22, 2011

First things first! My quilt, Reflections, was just accepted into the Houston Quilt Show!! (for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, it’s the Cadillac quilt in the ‘gallery’) Apparently, there were around 680 entries in my category and they narrowed it down to 320. Now, I have to get it sent off before the end of next month. The show is in early Nov.

Next, we’ve been getting some things done around the place. My husband mowed the hay crop in the front because it rained so much that the grass went to seed before it could be baled. He mowed it, and mowed it, and mowed it until it looks like there was no cut grass at all. Next, he will start plowing it to try and get rid of weed seeds.

We ordered our winter wood supply and a couple of days ago, it came. Here’s the first 7 cords…

This is what the pile looked like…

Then he came back with the next 7 cords…

And now our pile looks like this…

We’re paying a guy to come and buck it up into 2 1/2 foot lengths. Then we pile those pieces up. Later, we will move them closer to the house and throw them down into the basement where we will load them into a wheelbarrow and move them to the far side of the basement and pile them up for the winter…who needs a gym??

During all of this, I have been slowly working on ‘Celise’ I discovered some perfect pieces in my stash but not enough of each so I have to make a trip to a quilt shop. I re-did the piece on the side of her face that was ruined and I like it much better now.

She is starting to look out at me…

I’ll continue to keep you posted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda permalink
    July 22, 2011 1:19 pm

    The intricacies are amazing Carol. Looking forward to the end product. Hugs. GB

  2. Janet Jones permalink
    July 22, 2011 2:34 pm

    Carol, your skill with that “portrait” of Celise is amazing! And congratulations on having the Cadillac accepted into the Houston show. Marvellous!
    Love looking at all that wood that you’ve had delivered. I need to phone a man to bring some for me, but he cuts it to stove length (much shorter than yours!) and delivers it by pickup load. Doug says he will split it – I really don’t want to attempt that!

  3. S. Jones permalink
    July 22, 2011 3:41 pm

    It looks like her already!! Good job, Carol

  4. S. Jones permalink
    July 22, 2011 3:42 pm

    Congrats on having your quilt accepted at Houston. An honour indeed!

Leave a Reply

