Skip to content

Here we go!

July 9, 2011

Alright, after a long, long, loooonng, dry period, I have FINALLY started to quilt again. I hope it will be a nice long ride.

I took a photo of our beautiful granddaughter, Celise this past winter. Lately, every time I see it on the fridge, I started to think of it in terms of a quilt. Here she is…

Isn’t she gorgeous? (don’t feel left out, Sadie, I’m thinking of one of you as well!)

Anyway, here’s the process so far.

I took the photo and blew it up on our copier in colour. Then, I placed it into a plastic binder sleeve and traced the different areas in felt pen…

The plastic sleeve then went on my overhead projector and enlarged on the wall, and traced again in felt pen onto brown wrapping paper…

The next step was to trace the whole thing onto freezer paper. This is my working pattern. Next, I mentally divided the whole image into sections and decided to start with the head. If the face isn’t right, the whole picture will be wrong. I cut the head out of the freezer paper and starting at the top, began to cut out and place fabric…

OK, so you are up to date now. I will keep adding photos as I work on it. Wish me luck!!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet Jones permalink
    July 10, 2011 12:42 am

    Wow, Carol! That is going to be beautiful! You are certainly an artist – being able to do a portrait like that in fabric… Inspiration!
    Love from Aunt Janet.

Leave a Reply

