Skip to content

Arizona Desert is done!

March 10, 2011

I know I haven’t posted an entry for a while. It is really hard to stay indoors and quilt when the sunshine, pool, and friends are beckoning!

Anyway, Arizona Desert is done!

Not too bad. The only thing left to do (after signing it!) is to sew the binding on.

You may notice, if you look closely at a previous picture and this one, that it is different. It is actually quite different…and a lot smaller than my original. Things were not going well and I was forcing myself to work on it (never a good idea!)

Here’s what I did…

Yeah, I cut out the best part!   I now had a manageable piece that was still flat.

This is the piece…

I could work with this one. I added some of the smaller foreground ‘bushes’ and stitched them down with thread painting using a variegated green thread. Here’s a detail of that…

Well, there you have it. The quilt is done. I have a couple more in mind but will not be working on them here in Palm Desert. We move in 2 days to Santa Barbara where we will be living for the next 3 months. I usually go to quilt guild meetings there and that seems to get the creative juices flowing once again.

I have a number of great pictures of our trip to the Living Desert (zoo) here in Palm Desert. I hope to do a post in the next day or so to let you see some of the pictures I took there.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise Robinson permalink
    March 10, 2011 7:17 pm

    Carol, the latest quilt is beautiful!

  2. Joan Massey permalink
    March 11, 2011 3:11 pm

    Love the finished product! It should do well!
    Moving to Santa Barbra?? Now that’s a nice treat for you! It’s practically your second home…. enjoy it, Carol and the friends you have there. I’m happy for you, that you ended up going there.

  3. Anne &Charlie permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:15 am

    Hi!Guys, How are you doing I wish I was there with you but maybe next year!! Did you move yet and how do you like it and if you say it is lovely I am getting on the next plane!!!ha

    I haven’t been on the computer much and I was having trouble the last time so I hope this one is okey. I think your quilt is lovely, I can understand if you can’t draw yourself from the swimming pool, I would do the same if I had a bathing suit to fit in!!! If you know what I mean.

    We haven’t been out to Dan &Wendy’s all winter there has been so much snow and storms. We talked about going out again and calling you guys!! We will soon.
    You take care and we will talk soon. Miss you guys Anne &Charlie

Leave a Reply

