Skip to content

Desert Denizen continues…

February 7, 2011

Well, I thought I ought to bring you up to date. It is way too nice out to spend all my time quilting so things are not progressing as quickly as usual.

Anyway, I have been doing bits and pieces here and there. Here’s a shot of Desert Denizen with all the fabrics cut to fit. I fussy-cut the top edge of the grassy fabric and will sew over it later.

The general idea is coming along here.

Next, I begin stitching. The first thing to stitch (just to anchor everything properly) is the horizon. This will be done with a matching brown thread.

From this stitching line, I worked down…

The entire dark brown part is stippled…here’s a close-up…

Then, I go back to the horizon line and stitch the mountains, and then the sky from the bottom up…

This shot shows part of the sky done. I use narrow, horizontal lines when I have a calm, clear sky. You can see part way up where I have stopped stitching. The fabric is ruffled above this line. This is normal. You have to trust the process and continue and the sky will ‘magically’ flatten as you go. Here’s the entire sky done…

Actually, in this shot, the sky and foreground are all done. The quilt has flattened out and I have, again, pinned the cactus pieces on. The foreground bush will be stitched last.

OK, I have been thinking about Arizona Desert for a bit (it’s on my wall and in my face!) I thought of adding a border about 4″ inside the outer edge of the quilt for drama, possibly ending in the mountains at each end. Here’s the great trim I found…

It has a very Southwest feel to it that I thought might work.

Here’s the quilt with the trim pinned on…

I don’t know about you, but I’m not liking it…too dark or something! Let me know your thoughts.

So, another awesome day and I’m off to the pool. More tomorrow. I plan on starting to stitch each cactus section with a bit of batting behind each one. I will then assemble them and stitch them to the quilt, most likely adding the quilt backing as well.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne &Charlie permalink
    February 7, 2011 11:17 pm

    Hi!Carol &Trevor,
    As you are off to the pool, we are off to shoveling more snow. We had another storm on Sunday there was no service and we are over our heads with snow and more tomorrow.
    Your doing well I guess!!
    Your quilt is looking good!!
    Love Charlie &Anne

  2. Denise Robinson permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:31 pm

    Hi Carol. Sure am enjoying your “journey” with your latest project. Also wish I could be there to enjoy the warmth of the sun. “Denizen” is looking wonderful, can almost imagine myself there to feel the sand between my toes! Almost, because we are getting another 15 – 25 cms of snow today and tonight, on top of the two or three feet of snow out there right now! Really need that like a kick in the head. Looking forward to the next installment!

  3. February 11, 2011 3:35 pm

    I know how much you like your borders but I think this quilt doesn’t need one at all. This one’s definitely too dark.

  4. February 13, 2011 2:22 pm

    Your quilt is going to be lovely , myself I would leave that border out , it draws your eye directly to that instead of all the other great work you have done . Nice to have found your blog.

  5. Joan Massey permalink
    February 14, 2011 12:52 am

    Hi, Carol!
    Boy, am I behind in my email, sorry!
    The quilt is looking good. I have to agree abt the border… to dark and it draws the eye away. I do like the border (colours and pattern are fun!)… just not with the picture.
    By now, you must have another update ready, right…? (hint-hint!) 😉
    Have fun and be happy to be missing all the nasty weather back east!
    Hugs….

  6. Susan from Peachland permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:23 pm

    Hi Carol, I really enjoy getting your updates. Love the Southwest inspired border but, not in the position you have it. Makes be think if goal posts LOL LOL……..Enjoy the sunshine and warmth.
    Luv S

Leave a Reply

