Skip to content

‘Desert Denizen’ begun…

February 3, 2011

OK, the cactus gets his own quilt. I drew out a pattern on freezer paper using the first drawing on brown paper. From there, I cut out each arm of the cactus from the freezer paper, ironed the pattern onto fabric, cut it out and peeled off the paper. This was done for each section. I then cut out strips of highlight and shadow fabrics for either side of each piece and lightly glued them together. The next step was to add some details with a different shade of green…

Here’s the first ‘arm’ at this stage…

And the second arm…

I continued working each segment in the same way.

Now, I auditioned different fabrics for my background and came up with this general look.

At this point, only the 4 smaller arms are done and the background fabrics are loosely cut to shape.

Now, I finished the cactus up to this point and refined the background.

Not bad for the first day’s work, I even had time for some suntanning around the pool!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:03 am

    WOW! Are you ever fast…. I like it!

Leave a Reply

