Skip to content

Slimmer size…

February 1, 2011

Thank you to everyone who is involved with my decision making, I really appreciate all the comments! The cactus is history (but not forgotten) and I now have added white tulle to make the horizon slightly lighter – thank you, Glenda!

I have been thinking for a while that the whole quilt was rather ungainly. I have folded the top back and am living with the new size for a bit. What do you think? I look forward to suggestions on the size, etc.

The mountains look a little ‘fuzzed out’ at the moment because the tulle is overlapping them. I will trim it after I sew. I tacked the mountains down with glue already which makes it hard to do the obvious thing and tuck the tulle behind them! These things happen all the time! Anyhow, I think this size makes sense and isn’t so ungainly. I also did not come with enough fabric to do the backing so I have to wait a few days before quilting.

As a side note, here are a few more pictures of my surroundings for you…

This is a picture of one of the walkways showing an orange tree.

Here is the club house with the wonderful palm trees…if you look closely at the far distance, you can see the SNOW on top of the mountain!

Here is a better view of the clubhouse and gym  with the pool deck in the foreground.

This final one is of that grapefruit tree. In the background is that great fake palm tree surrounded by real ones.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    February 2, 2011 2:23 am

    Well, I think you are right. The balance in the new, slimmer quilt layout is better. The sky is less imposing, but the vista is still just as grand…
    Love the look of your surroundings! ~ And the snow on the mountains is amazing…. gives you an idea of how very tall they are. Are those mountains to the East or the SE? (Just curious…)
    Very cool to see citrus fruit trees… so very exotic to us snow-bound Canadians currently enjoying -23C temps (It’s warmed up from -30C!) this evening. 😉 LOL! Enjoy!!

  2. Vikki Davis permalink
    February 13, 2011 3:52 am

    Checking in, seeing how you’re doing. Very busy quilting of course! And a beautiful one it is too. We’re all missing you and glad you are blessed with sun. Thanks for the pictures. It’s nice to see green grass again for I fear we will never see it again here at home. I’m not really serious, but it could happen…….maybe.

Leave a Reply

