Skip to content

Add the cactus or not??

January 28, 2011

OK, my goal yesterday was to at least have a full-sized paper cactus pinned to the quilt so I could ‘live’ with it for a while. I wasn’t sure of the size, position or even if it would look right.

Here it is…

That other little stick in the middleground is also a paper cactus because I didn’t want just one.

If you read the comments recently, my daughter suggested that by putting the cactus in, the desert became just a background and not the main event. I agree with her as you can see from this picture. I really like the idea of creating a cactus in fabric so I will use this paper one as a pattern for a separate quilt. I will leave the desert alone. Thanks, Bekah!

Drawing the cactus didn’t take very long so I did the satin stitching around the coasters before hitting the pool…

I have another idea for a quilt and as soon as I have a pattern drawn on paper, I’ll post it…should be an interesting one. That makes two that I will be doing in the next week or so.

As a side note – I found these right outside our apartment on the ground. We are surrounded by all kinds of citrus trees on the complex here and it is great finding fruit that has ripened and fallen to the ground. The lower ones have all been picked. Some enterprising tenants have used golf clubs, etc to reach higher ones!

I’m not sure if they are technically grapefruit or something else (pommellos?). They are huge and taste like really sweet grapefruit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    January 31, 2011 4:04 pm

    Much as I like the idea of a cactus, I have to agree with you and Bekah. It totally changes the focus of the picture and takes it off the vista…. Hmmmmmm.

    Those fruit look really interesting! Did you ever find out what they are?

    Is your next quilt idea a desert theme as well? I can’t help but wonder if it has a cactus or two…. 😉
    Have fun!

  2. Dierdrea permalink
    February 1, 2011 4:13 am

    Love the quilt, Mark says no to the big cactus. He said a few more small ones. We both really like the quilt. the focal point is the the mountains. At least to us and you know we both like your work. M & D

Leave a Reply

