Skip to content

Quilting again!

January 25, 2011

Seeing the desert has inspired me as I had hoped it would. The vastness and wonderful silhouettes of the mountains are awesome. I took quite a few pictures during our trip here and I am using at least two of them in this quilt.

This is the main one I will be using. I wanted a paler sky but I am working with the fabrics I brought with me so my sky will be a brighter blue.

In this shot, you can see my design wall behind the blue fabric. I use the backside of $1 store flannel-backed vinyl tablecloths. It would not lay flat on my wall so it does have some unwanted wrinkles, but lots of us do, too!

Anyway, the plan was to use the whole piece of blue and trim it later to where I want it.

I am not using any patterns or even drawing anything before cutting. I find it much freer and the design process flows better.

I needed a pale mauve for the very distant mountains so I found a great mauve fabric and used the back side. (Don’t forget the backsides of your fabrics, it is like having twice as many choices!

You many notice that one mountain on the left, in front of the others is slightly darker. That is the front side of the fabric. It gives a subtle darker shade to show advancing. The closer the object is in the picture, the more colour it has and the more distinct it will appear.

Now I will add a really dark rocky hill…

This was from a different fabric entirely. You can also see a couple of strips of desert  now as well.

Note* These pieces of fabric are just placed on the design wall. The fabrics stick quite nicely on the flocking. At this point, I want to be able to change anything easily so nothing is stuck down.

I like to stick bits of fabric up to see if I like them or not. After placing them, I back away as far as I can or view it through my reducer.( one of those peep holes for doors. You can get them at the hardware store – cheap!)

Here’s a detail of my joining method. If you were to join your fabrics with a straight line, you would see it in the finished quilt. When this has been stitched over, you won’t see these joins much at all. Most of the fabrics I had were not as wide as this quilt will be, hence the need for joining.

Pretty much all the basic fabrics have been added. At this point, I have now lightly glued the strips together using dots of fabric glue. This step is needed because I now need to put the whole thing onto some batting.

I was able to pull the top off the design wall in one piece and lay it on the floor on top of my batting. I then placed it back up on the wall. This step might be skipped if you were to put batting on the wall first. I never know how much I need until I get all the fabric pieces on.

Originally, my idea was for a long, narrow one like a panoramic shot, but I have decided to add at least one cactus and I like the large size so that I can put a nice, big, detailed cactus on there! You can see that this quilt will be the size of a tablecloth!

That’s where it’s at now. I’ll add more as it progresses.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    January 25, 2011 10:27 pm

    Wow ~ interesting to see the actual picture taking shape in the progression of photos…

  2. Janet Jones permalink
    January 25, 2011 10:28 pm

    Wow, Carol! You do get right at it don’t you? That already looks so good – and when you add a cactus, it will be gorgeous.

  3. Dierdrea permalink
    January 27, 2011 1:08 am

    As always……very nice

Leave a Reply

