Skip to content

Another Christmas quilt…

December 22, 2010

My neighbour came over the other day with one of her finished quilt using my pattern for ‘JOY’. It looks really great and nice to see what other colour choices come out like!

Brenda's 'JOY'

You can see my original under the Christmas Quilts heading. The pattern is available. For now, you can contact me to get one but I hope to have PayPal set up here shortly.

I began to get excited about doing another Christmas quilt.

I had purchased some burlap with gold threads running through it a while back. It was a long thin strip so this idea came to mind. Here it is laid out with blue rectangles cut out and 3 trees cut from a patterned dark green fabric.

We Three Trees original layout

I rounded off the corners of the blue rectangles…you’ll see why in a minute.

I glued the blue pieces and trees down using little dabs around the edges. Then I stitched the trees down. After this step, the batting and backing were added. I just use cheap fabric for my backings, I don’t want to waste the great-looking stuff!

I designed the gold border around the blue pieces and sewed it down. Here’s what it looked like…

Gold added

You can see that I only roughly cut the backing fabric as I’ll be squaring the whole thing up later! No rulers for this gal!

I squared it up after this step and stepped back to look at it. I had a dilemma…what kind of border to use? I thought that the burlap look was too rough to merit seam binding and I couldn’t bring THAT backing to the front. Besides, burlap is hard to stitch to.

I finally got a brainwave! I went to my Christmas trim bag and found some gold ribbon (you know, the kind that you can curl with scissors) I stitched this down using gold metallic thread and a zig zag.

Gold trim used...

The only problem now was the backing and batting showed around the edges. I sewed the gold trim about 1/4″ in all around.

Backing and batting showing

That picture also shows the gold threads running through the burlap.

I ended up trimming the backing and batting close to the zig zag on the back side.

Backing and batting trimmed

The burlap edges can be frayed and it will still look great.

Here’s a finished picture of the quilt…

We Three Trees

Not bad for about a day’s work!!

The quilt is the full width of the burlap and about 14″ wide.

I thought I would add these pictures I took of a Bluejay in our Russian Olive tree. They look a little fuzzy as I was shooting through a screen.

Bluejay

Bluejay

Well, I hope all of you have a wonderful Christmas and I’ll talk to you again in the New Year!!

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 10:41 pm

    Very pretty wall hanging! I like how you incorporated the burlap.

  2. Joan Massey permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:01 pm

    Neat to see how the “Joy” quilt came out – I like those colours, too.
    The newest one with the trees is also very appealing. It is interesting to see how you added some of the effects.
    That blue jay is a very handsome fellow – nice shot!

Leave a Reply

