Skip to content

‘NOEL’ finally done…

November 27, 2010

Well, I’ve finally finished the quilt. This one has taken longer than most, I must admit. I have been procrastinating, of course.

I’ll show you the last steps…

 

 

 

Here is is with the binding done. I trimmed the top and batting (squaring the corners and edges) then I cut the backing to 1″ wider than the quilt all around. This was then ironed in half and brought to the front of the quilt and stitched down, mitering the corners.

I then found some neat trim at a local shop…

stitched down on top

 

 

 

You can see the gold trim stitched down on top of the black backing leaving a little bit of black showing.

I have actually done this in the wrong order and you’ll see why in a minute!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a close-up of that gold trim. It really looks rich!

It was zigzagged on with gold thread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In this shot you can see the black trim added to the outside edge of  each letter square. This is also where the problem shows up…

You can see from this picture that the middle looks narrower than the two edges. This occurred when I stitched the black trim on. That ‘sucked up’ the quilt and caused it to narrow in that area.

I should have done all the trim before squaring up the whole quilt and sewing the binding. Oh well, let that serve as a warning to all of you!

Here’s a shot of the whole fireplace…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I cut this white mantle cloth out of ‘Warm ‘n White’ batting. The snowflakes were traced from some cookie cutters with felt pen, then I cut out the holes and lower parts of the flakes. A crazy idea I came up with one morning.

I went to a felting class last Saturday. It was a lot of fun. I did two pictures…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had already done this little guy a couple of years ago…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If any of you can take a class, it’s rather addictive!

I did this breed because that is what we have…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s our little Maggie with a friend all decked out for Christmas.

Yes, I have started decorating already!

That’s all for now. I’ll continue to keep you posted. Keep those comments coming, I love to hear from you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joan Massey permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:03 pm

    Love “Noel” – it’s hard to see the flaws you say are there from here… 😉
    The fireplace looks just awesome, Carol. Thought your felt version of Maggie was very cute!
    Nice to see you enjoying yourself!

Leave a Reply

