Skip to content

I’m back at it!!

November 16, 2010

Well, my neighbour came over the other day to work on a quilt. She is learning how to do a surf line on the beach.

My neighbour's quilt

My neighbour's quilt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She’s doing a great job!

While I was wandering around my studio and she was sewing, I took out my Christmas resource pictures and started looking through them. That got me interested again in doing some Christmas quilts for this year. The juices started flowing and I got excited! I love it when that happens…

I found an idea and started auditioning fabrics…I decided to do the word, NOEL, with each letter in a separate square.

Fabric choices

Fabric choices

 

 

 

 

 

I love the rich red/gold/black fabrics together. I was thinking of using the red as a background, then sewing squares of the patterned fabric (it looks like the front page in an old book) with black letters and metallic accents. We’ll see…

 

The next thing was to have a closer look at the letter fabrics.

Letter fabrics

Letter fabrics

 

 

 

So here is what each square might look like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I made a Freezer paper pattern of the letters.

Freezer paper pattern

Freezer paper pattern

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ironed the freezer paper onto the black fabric and cut the letters out. Then I ironed the same pattern onto the gold metallic fabric and cut out the inner letters.

Letters cut out

Letters cut out

 

 

 

 

Here they are laying on the background colour. I was still not sure which fabric I was going to use for the actual background, it just had to be red!

 

Next, I cut out the squares and glued the letters on.

Noel layout

Noel layout

You can now see the red crushed velvet background that I bought! I love the rich texture it adds. I now have the ‘sandwich’ in place. (the black backing fabric and the batting in the middle.)

 

 

 

Now, the squares had to be sewn down…I did not fold under any edges. I am planning on some sort of rich border for each square that will cover the raw edge.

Squares stitched

Squares stitched

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next step was to sew down the letters. I used a very small zigzag in black thread for the outer black letters and gold metallic thread for the inner letters.

Black and gold zigzag done

Black and gold zigzag done

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a close up of that letter…

Close up of black and gold stitching

Close up of black and gold stitching

 

 

It’s going to look nice and rich!

 

 

 

 

 

Well, that’s as far as I have gotten as of today. I’ll keep you posted on the progress of ‘NOEL’

I am working on my other projects in the evening so I’ll show you how those are coming along…

Peacock scarf

Peacock scarf

 

 

Here’s that scarf. I’m not sure how that little toe at the end of the first few rows got there! Ooops!

 

 

 

 

 

Sampler

Sampler

 

And here’s the cross stitch so far. This is really a fun project to work on…no changing threads!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well so long for now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 7:38 pm

    Hi Carol
    Glad you’re safely home. Reading this is wonderful – kind of like being inside your thought processes. I’ll update your link on our website! New stuff there too.
    Rita

  2. Joan Massey permalink
    November 19, 2010 4:19 am

    Love to see how you put it all together…. very informative. “Noel” looks great already!

  3. November 19, 2010 5:13 pm

    You know mom, that sampler would look great in my house. I know, I know…I have enough pictures that aren’t up already…but I think I have a spot for that one…

Leave a Reply

