Skip to content

Hello!

October 11, 2010

I am a pictorial quilter (I try to make my quilts look like paintings) and I will be letting you in on the progress of my quilts as I work on them. Some quilts have a mind of their own and don’t always turn out as I hoped. There are also the serendipities that occur along the way. This will be something like an on-line workshop/trunk show.

Should be fun! I will appreciate any and all comments/questions.

As an artist first, I came at quilting from outside the box and have never stepped into it. I use unusual fabrics (tulle, organza, dryer lint -yes, you read it right! more on that later- cheese cloth…the list goes on) I am not making art quilts with these, but I use whatever gives me the right effect, much like paint to produce framable artwork.

 

This quilt, “Surf’s Up” for example, is in an 18″x24″ frame and spent the summer in an Art Gallery on Prince Edward Island.

I used a commercial cloud print for the lower part of the sky and a plain blue for the rest. The headland is a batik with thread-painted trees. The ocean is a darkish water fabric with a blue organza overlay that has little crystals all over it. The wave is batik mostly with white & blue organza strips for the froth. The foreground is made of 2 different water fabrics and the foam is cheesecloth with a blue organza overlay and a white one. The rest is thread painting.

If you are confused about anything, send a comment and I’ll address it.

I am presently on holidays so I will be just introducing my quilts and setting things up. When I get back home to PEI, I’ll start quilting again and we’ll be ‘off to the races’.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 7:29 pm

    Great job Carol!

  2. October 13, 2010 7:31 pm

    Our blog is http://blog.stagerightetc.com/ enjoy!
    Ria

  3. Adela Laband permalink
    November 1, 2010 4:25 pm

    Wonderful. Can’t wait to see more.

  4. Joan Massey permalink
    November 3, 2010 11:59 pm

    Love this quilt…. it’s like being at the seashore watching the surf foam and break!

Leave a Reply

